My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Pinterest logo

LBB Presents ONLINE: Nic Stone with Jodi Picoult - Dear Justyce

Thursday, October 1, 7:30pm CDT
Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page

Left Bank Books welcomes bestselling author
Nic Stone,
who will discuss her new novel, 
Dear Justyce
on our Facebook Live Page at 7:30pm CDT on October 1.
Stone will be in conversation with bestselling author
Jodi Picoult.
Join us on our Facebook Live Page and order a copy of
from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores!

 

The stunning sequel to the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. Incarcerated teen Quan writes letters to Justyce about his experiences in the American juvenile justice systemPerfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas.

In the highly anticipated sequel to her New York Times bestseller, Nic Stone delivers an unflinching look into the flawed practices and silenced voices in the American juvenile justice system.

Vernell LaQuan Banks and Justyce McAllister grew up a block apart in the Southwest Atlanta neighborhood of Wynwood Heights. Years later, though, Justyce walks the illustrious halls of Yale University . . . and Quan sits behind bars at the Fulton Regional Youth Detention Center.

Through a series of flashbacks, vignettes, and letters to Justyce--the protagonist of Dear Martin--Quan's story takes form. Troubles at home and misunderstandings at school give rise to police encounters and tough decisions. But then there's a dead cop and a weapon with Quan's prints on it. What leads a bright kid down a road to a murder charge? Not even Quan is sure.

"A powerful, raw, must-read told through the lens of a Black boy ensnared by our broken criminal justice system." -Kirkus, Starred Review

"This book expands the conversation about systemic racism to include young men of color who don’t fit the demands of respectability politics....Perfect for public and school libraries who are looking to offer a nuanced perspective on the juvenile justice system." School Library Journal

Nic Stone is an Atlanta native and a Spelman College graduate. Her debut novel for young adults, Dear Martin, and her debut middle-grade novel, Clean Getaway, were New York Times bestsellers. She is also the author of Odd One Out, a novel about discovering oneself and who it is okay to love, which was an NPR Best Book of the Year and a Rainbow Book List Top Ten selection, and Jackpot, a love-ish story that takes a searing look at economic inequality. She lives in Atlanta with her family. Find her online at nicstone.info or on Instagram at @nicstone.

Jodi Picoult is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of twenty-four novels, including A Spark of LightSmall Great ThingsLeaving TimeThe Storyteller, Lone Wolf, Sing You Home, House Rules, Handle with CareChange of Heart, Nineteen Minutes, and My Sister’s Keeper. She is also the author, with daughter Samantha van Leer, of two young adult novels, Between the Lines and Off the Page. Picoult lives in New Hampshire.

All you need to do to participate is log in to your personal Facebook account, go to Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page, and wait for the livestream to begin on the page (you may need to refresh the page periodically until the stream begins). You may also watch the simulcast right here on this event page.

Thursday, October 1, 2020 - 7:30pm
Left Bank Books' Facebook Page
Dear Justyce Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984829665
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - September 29th, 2020