Nadia Afifi - The Emergent

Wednesday, May 18, 7pm CT
Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page or YouTube Page

Left Bank Books welcomes acclaimed author
Nadia Afifi,
who will discuss the follow up to the debut called "staggering and un-put-downable,"
The Emergent,
on our Facebook and YouTube Live Page at 7pm CT on May 18th.
Afifi will be in conversation with bookseller emeritus
Mark W. Tiedemann.
Join us for the launch event and order a copy of
from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores!
 

 

Nadia Afifi is the author of The Sentient and numerous science fiction short stories. Her debut novel was lauded as 'staggering and un-put-downable' in a starred Publishers Weekly review and recommended by Booklist for 'readers who love a thrilling narrative and welcome moral and philosophical questions in their science fiction.' Analog Magazine describes her as 'a brand-new voice in our field, and one you should become familiar with.' The Sentient is the first novel in a near-future series about a controversial cloning project, human consciousness and a high-stakes conflict between religious fundamentalism and science. Her short fiction has appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction ('The Bahrain Underground Bazaar') and Abyss & Apex ('Exhibit K').

Nadia grew up in Saudi Arabia and Bahrain, where she read every book she could get her hands on, but currently calls Denver, Colorado home. She is a member of the Rocky Mountain Fiction Writer's organization. Her background as an Arab American who lived overseas has inspired her fiction writing, particularly her passion for exploring complex social, political and cultural issues through a futuristic lens.

When she isn't writing, she spends her time practicing (and falling off) the lyra (aerial hoops), hiking through Colorado's many trails, jogging through Denver's streets and working on the most challenging jigsaw puzzles she can find. She also loves dogs, travel and cooking. Follow her latest musings and adventures on her website (nadiaafifi.com), Twitter (@nadoodles) or Facebook (nadiawritesscifi).

 

Since 1990, Mark W. Tiedemann has published 11 novels and a collection, as well as 66 short stories. Compass Reach was shortlisted for the Philip K. Dick Award in 2002 and Remains was shortlisted for the James Tiptree Jr. Award in 2006. For five years he served as president of the Missouri Center for the Book (http://books.missouri.org). Recently, he has placed a new novel with Amphorae Press, to be released sometime next year. Recently retired from Left Bank Books, he is working on new stories.

 

 

 

Scintillating follow-up to 'The Sentient', which the Publishers Weekly starred review called a staggering and un-put-downable debut, offers a fresh and feminist-forward take on cloning.

Afifi's staggering and un-put-downable debut offers a fresh and feminist-forward take on cloning [...] This riveting debut is a must-have for any sci-fi fan.-- Publishers Weekly starred review of Book 1 in the series

Amira Valdez's adventures continue in the sequel to The Sentient, as she finds herself in unprecedented danger. The ruthless new leader of the fundamentalist Trinity Compound seeks to understand his strange neurological connection with Amira and unleash an army on an unstable North America. The first human clone has been born, but thanks to the mysterious scientist Tony Barlow, it may unlock the secret to human immortality - or disaster. Together, Amira and Barlow form an uneasy alliance in pursuit of scientific breakthroughs and protection from shared enemies. But new discoveries uncover dark secrets that Barlow wants to keep hidden.

 

Praise for The Sentient
"Afifi's staggering and un-put-downable debut offers a fresh and feminist-forward take on cloning [...] This riveting debut is a must-have for any sci-fi fan." Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Afifi's first novel is a science fiction noir [...] The worldbuilding is a particular strength, as every locale feels well-realized and lived-in. This is an excellent book for fans of Mira Grant and Michael Crichton, or readers who love a thrilling narrative and welcome moral and philosophical questions in their science fiction." - Booklist

"Nadia Afifi is a brand-new voice, and one you should become familiar with [...] Exciting, mesmerizing, and full of cutting-edge science, 'The Sentient' is an excellent beginning to what's sure to be a successful career." - Analog SF

Virtual Event
Books: 
The Emergent (Cosmic) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781787586666
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Flame Tree Press - May 17th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
The Sentient (Cosmic) Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9781787584327
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Flame Tree Press - September 8th, 2020