My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Pinterest logo

NEW DATE: LBB Presents ONLINE: Michael Kahn - Bad Trust

Monday, June 1, 7pm
Left Bank Books' Facebook Page

Left Bank Books welcomes St. Louis local award winning author Michael Kahn, who will discuss his newest addition to the Rachel Gold Mystery Series, Bad Trust, on Facebook Live at 7pm CST on June 1. Kahn will be in conversation with Mitch Margo, local attorney and author of the novel Black Hearts White Minds. Join us on our Facebook Page and order a copy of Bad Trust from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores!

Two lawsuits spiral out of control, one ending in murder, the other in courtroom humiliation--both challenging St Louis attorney Rachel Gold

An ugly trust fund dispute among siblings turns deadly when the trustee brother, Isaiah, CEO of the family firm he stole from their father, is murdered in his office. St. Louis attorney Rachel Gold, hired to bring suit against Isaiah on behalf of his sisters, must now defend one against the charge of fratricide. As Rachel and her team seek essential evidence, the widowed Rachel struggles with family issues of her own, including relationships with her young son Sam and the attractive Abe her mother pushes her to do more than date. The jury is still out on whether or not Rachel can create the work-life balance she is seeking. Meanwhile what starts out as a lawsuit filed to cover up a minor fraud by a rich social climber spirals into a courtroom showdown when the victim refuses to be one and hires Rachel to defend him. With few strategic options, Rachel concocts a spectacular courtroom bluff.

Bad Trust, the 11th book in the fascinating Attorney Rachel Gold Mysteries, is the perfect pick for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Sara Paretsky.

Michael Kahn is a trial lawyer by day and an author at night. He wrote his first novel, Grave Designs, on a challenge from his wife Margi, who got tired of listening to the same answer whenever she asked him about a book he was reading. "Not bad," he would say, "but I could write a better book than that." "Then write one," she finally said, "or please shut up." So he shut up-no easy task for an attorney-and then he wrote one. Kahn is the award-winning author of: eleven Rachel Gold novels; three standalone novels: Played!, The Sirena Quest, and, under the pen name Michael Baron, The Mourning Sexton, and several short stories. In addition to his day job as a trial lawyer, he is an adjunct professor of law at Washington University in St. Louis, where he teaches a class on censorship and free expression. Married to his high school sweetheart, he is the father of five and the grandfather of, so far, seven. 

All you need to do to participate is log in to your personal Facebook account, go to Left Bank Books' Facebook Page, "Like" the page, and wait for the livestream to begin on the page (you may need to refresh the page periodically until the stream begins).

Monday, June 1, 2020 - 7:00pm
Left Bank Books' Facebook page
Bad Trust Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781464212567
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Poisoned Pen Press - April 21st, 2020