Left-Bank

LBB Book Club in Partnership with CAM: Read the Resistance discusses Daughters of Smoke and Fire

Wednesday, July 28, 7pm
Left Bank Books Online Meeting - Registration is required

Left Bank Books is pleased to relaunch its reading group Read the Resistance in collaboration with The Contemporary Art Museum St. Louis and its exhibition Stories of Resistance

Book discussions will take place monthly virtually, rsvp sign up is hereParticipation is free, but registration is required. Participants can register for any or all of the meetings at this link. Each month, the discussion group will unpack the selected book through prompts and visual cues from artworks in the exhibition that inspired the book selection.

The fifth meeting is July 28 at 7pm and will be discussing Daughters of Smoke and Fire by Ava Homa. The book was selected in response to Banu Cennetoğlu’s installation Gurbet’s Diary (27.07.1995–08.10.1997) (2016–17), on view as part of Stories of Resistance. The 145 lithographic limestone slabs in Cennetoğlu’s installation present the contents of the diary of Gurbetelli Ersöz, a Kurdish journalist who covered and ultimately joined the Kurdistan Workersʼ Party (PKK). The event is accompanied by the release of the Radio Resistance episode “Defiant Writing,” featuring Cennetoğlu and poet Treasure Shields Redmond.

You’re encouraged to participate even if you haven’t finished reading the book, or are planning to start! 

Books are available for purchase through Left Bank Books at our discounted reading group 20% off rate. Please email Shane at Shane.m@left-bank.com with any questions. 

To see the full Read the Resistance schedule visit the Read the Resistance Book Club page.

 

The unforgettable, haunting story of a young woman’s perilous fight for freedom and justice for her brother, the first novel published in English by a female Kurdish writer
 
Set in Iran, this extraordinary debut novel takes readers into the everyday lives of the Kurds. Leila dreams of making films to bring the suppressed stories of her people onto the global stage, but obstacles keep piling up. Leila’s younger brother Chia, influenced by their father’s past torture, imprisonment, and his deep-seated desire for justice, begins to engage with social and political affairs. But his activism grows increasingly risky and one day he disappears in Tehran. Seeking answers about her brother’s whereabouts, Leila fears the worst and begins a campaign to save him. But when she publishes Chia’s writings online, she finds herself in grave danger as well.
Daughters of Smoke and Fire is an evocative portrait of the lives and stakes faced by 40 million stateless Kurds and a powerful story that brilliantly illuminates the meaning of identity and the complex bonds of family, perfect for fans of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Half of a Yellow Sun.

Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 7:00pm
Left Bank Books Online Meeting - Registration is required
Staff Pick Badge
Daughters of Smoke and Fire: A Novel Cover Image
$12.80
ISBN: 9781419746604
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Harry N. Abrams - May 11th, 2021