Left-Bank

Kyle Beachy with Danielle Dutton - Most Fun Thing

Tuesday, August 24, 7pm CT
Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page or YouTube Page

Left Bank Books welcomes author, professor & St. Louis native
Kyle Beachy,
who will discuss his new book, 
The Most Fun Thing: Dispatches from a Skateboard Life,
on our Facebook Live Page at 7pm CT on August 24th.
Beachy will be in conversation with St. Louis novelist and publisher
Danielle Dutton.
Join us on our Facebook Live Page and order a copy of
from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores!
 
 
About Most Fun Thing: Dispatches from a Skateboard Life

Perfect for fans of Barbarian Days, this memoir in essays follows one man's decade-long quest to uncover the hidden meaning of skateboarding, and explores how this search led unexpectedly to insights on marriage, love, loss, American invention, and growing old.

In January 2012, creative writing professor and novelist Kyle Beachy published one of his first essays on skate culture, an exploration of how Nike's corporate strategy successfully gutted the once-mighty independent skate shoe market. Beachy has since established himself as skate culture's freshest, most illuminating, at times most controversial voice, writing candidly about the increasingly popular and fast-changing pastime he first picked up as a young boy and has continued to practice well into adulthood.

What is skateboarding? What does it mean to continue skateboarding after the age of forty, four decades after the kickflip was invented? How does one live authentically as an adult while staying true to a passion cemented in childhood? How does skateboarding shape one's understanding of contemporary American life? Of growing old and getting married?

Contemplating these questions and more, Beachy offers a deep exploration of a pastime--often overlooked, regularly maligned--whose seeming simplicity conceals universal truths. THE MOST FUN THING is both a rich account of a hobby and a collection of the lessons skateboarding has taught Beachy--and what it continues to teach him as he struggles to find space for it as an adult, a professor, and a husband.

"Reading The Most Fun Thing is the most fun thing that this reader has done in months. Kyle Beachy knows his skateboarding, but has even more to say about urban design, literary theory, marriage, the struggle for selfhood, the long-overdue exorcism of skate culture's misogyny and bigotry, and the eternal knife fight between capitalism and community. With an omnivorous and probing intelligence, Beachy views our tattered world through the scratched fish-eye lens of a skateboarder, and finds jewels of truth hidden everywhere he looks."-- Michael Christie, author of Greenwood and If I Fall, If I Die

"A candid, funny, and sometimes damning rumination on why we skateboard. The most thought-provoking writing on skateboarding I've ever read."-- Bing Liu, director of the Oscar-nominated documentary Minding the Gap

 

About our Speakers

Kyle Beachy's first novel, The Slide (Dial Press, 2009), won The Chicago Reader's Best Book by a Chicago Author reader's choice award for the year. His short fiction has appeared in journals including Fanzine, Pank, Hobart, Juked, The Collagist, 5 Chapters, and others. His writing on skateboarding has appeared in The PointThe American ReaderThe ChicagoanFree Skateboard Magazine (UK & Europe), The Skateboard Mag (US), JenkemDeadspin, and The Classical. He teaches at Roosevelt University in Chicago and is a co-host on the skateboarding podcast Vent City with pro skater Ryan Lay and others.

Danielle Dutton is the author of Margaret the FirstSPRAWL, and Attempts at a Life. Her writing has also appeared or is forthcoming in The Paris ReviewHarper'sThe White ReviewFenceBOMB, and others. She is on the faculty of the writing program at Washington University in St. Louis and is co-founder and editor of the feminist press Dorothy, a publishing project.

 

All you need to do to participate is log in to your personal Facebook account, go to Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page, and wait for the livestream to begin on the page (you may need to refresh the page periodically until the stream begins). You may also watch the simulcast on Left Bank's YouTube channel.

Tuesday, August 24, 2021 - 7:00pm
Virtual Event
The Most Fun Thing: Dispatches from a Skateboard Life Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538754115
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 10th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Margaret the First Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781936787357
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Catapult - March 15th, 2016

Sprawl Cover Image
By Danielle Dutton, Renee Gladman (Afterword by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781940696775
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Wave Books - September 4th, 2018