J. Elle with Nic Stone - A Taste of Magic

Monday, August 29, 2022 - 6:00pm
Monday, August 29, 6pm CT
In person at the High Low performing arts space
3301 Washington Ave, St. Louis, MO 63103
Also streaming virtually for an at home audience on Left Bank Books' YouTube
**Vaccination and masks required for in person attendance**
RSVP for the in person event here
 

Left Bank Books welcomes NYTimes Bestselling Author
J. Elle,
who will discuss her new enchanting adventure,
A Taste of Magic,
in person at the High Low Performing Arts Space
and virtually on Monday, August 29th at 6pm Central.
J. Elle will be in conversation with critically acclaimed and #1 NYTimes bestselling author
Nic Stone.
Join us in person or virtually.
Special treats from the story baked by celebrity chef Natasha B!
Order a SIGNED copy of
from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores!
 
 
**Proof of vaccination and mask will be required for entry to the in person event.** Guests will need to bring a photo ID AND either their physical vaccination card or a photo of their vaccination card.
 
Entrance to the Listening Room is on the side of the building on Leonard Avenue
Doors for the in person event will open at 5pm.
 

J. Elle is a New York Times bestselling author of young adult and middle-grade fantasy fiction and NAACP Image Award nominee. She is best known for her debut duology, Wings of Ebony. Her work has been translated into three languages and continents. The former educator and first-generation college student credits her nomadic lifestyle and humble inner-city beginnings as inspiration for her novels. When she's not writing, Elle can be found mentoring aspiring authors, binging reality TV, loving on her three littles, or cooking up something true to her Southern roots. More at www.authorjelle.com.

Nic Stone was born and raised in a suburb of Atlanta, GA. After graduating from Spelman College, she worked extensively in teen mentoring and lived in Israel for a few years before returning to the US to write full-time. Growing up with a wide range of cultures, religions, and backgrounds, Stone strives to bring these diverse voices and stories to her work. You can find her on her website: nicstone.info.

 

"An enchanting adventure that will leave readers hungry for more." - Kwame Mbalia, #1 New York Times bestselling author

New York Times bestselling author J. Elle makes her middle grade debut in this magical new series about a Black girl who learns she's a witch and must save her inner-city magic school from closing, perfect for fans of Wendy Mass.

Kyana Turner has just found out the family secret--she's a witch! This means mandatory lessons every Saturday at Park Row Magick Academy, the magic school hidden in the back of her local beauty shop. Learning spells, discovering charms and potion recipes, and getting a wand made to match her hair's curl pattern, Kyana feels like she's a part of something really special. The hardest part will be keeping her magic a secret from non-Magick folks, including her BFF, Nae.

But when the school loses funding, the students must either pay a hefty tuition at the academy across town or have their magic stripped . . . permanently. Determined not to let that happen, Kyana comes up with a plan to win a huge cash prize in a baking competition. After all, she's learned how to make the best desserts from her memaw. But as Kyana struggles to keep up with magic and regular school, prepare for the competition, and keep her magic secret, she wonders if it's possible to save her friendships, too. And what will she do when, in the first round of competition, a forbidden dollop of whisks into her cupcakes?

J. Elle's debut middle grade fantasy is full of humor, heart, and mouthwatering desserts.

 

"Delightful and charming, A Taste of Magic bursts with adventure, mischief, and so much heart. Readers will turn ravenous for all things magic and their opportunity to enroll in Park Row Magick Academy." --Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author

A Taste of Magic is an enchanting adventure that will leave readers hungry for more." -- Kwame Mbalia, #1 NYT bestselling author

"Successfully illustrating themes of class separation and economic opportunity across a mostly Black cast, Elle ( Wings of Ebony) builds a story of familial love and friendship and tops it with pure culinary enthusiasm." -- Publishers Weekly

"Elle tackles weighty topics--including educational equity and dementia--with tenderness and thought. . . . . Positive female relationships and fantastical humor (particularly around animals) round out this warm food- and family-centered story." -- Booklist

"This fast-paced, heartfelt story deliciously blends realism with the whimsy of the mystical. . . . A charming story of magic, love, and community." -- Kirkus Reviews

 

Classroom pricing is available. Please email info@left-bank.com for special classroom pricing.

 

Event address: 
High Low Listening Room
3301 Washington Ave
Saint Louis, MO 63103
Books: 
A Taste of Magic By J. Elle Cover Image
By J. Elle
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547606719
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - August 30th, 2022

Wings of Ebony By J. Elle Cover Image
By J. Elle
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534470682
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books f - March 22nd, 2022

Wings of Ebony By J. Elle Cover Image
By J. Elle
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534470675
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books f - January 26th, 2021

Ashes of Gold (Wings of Ebony) By J. Elle Cover Image
By J. Elle
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534470705
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books f - January 11th, 2022

Clean Getaway By Nic Stone Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781984893000
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Yearling - January 5th, 2021

Dear Martin By Nic Stone Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781101939529
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Ember - September 4th, 2018

Blackout: A Novel By Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jackson, Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk, Nicola Yoon Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063088108
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 31st, 2022

Dear Justyce By Nic Stone Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781984829696
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Ember - January 4th, 2022

Fast Pitch By Nic Stone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984893017
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - August 31st, 2021

Shuri: A Black Panther Novel (Marvel) By Nic Stone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338585476
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Scholastic Inc. - May 5th, 2020

Pre-Order Now Badge
Whiteout: A Novel By Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jackson, Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk, Nicola Yoon Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063088146
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - November 8th, 2022

Shuri: A Black Panther Novel #1 By Nic Stone Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781338742305
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Scholastic Inc. - December 7th, 2021

The Vanished (Shuri: A Black Panther Novel #2) By Nic Stone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338587180
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Scholastic Inc. - February 2nd, 2021

Odd One Out By Nic Stone Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781101939567
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Ember - September 17th, 2019

Pre-Order Now Badge
How to Be a (Young) Antiracist By Ibram X. Kendi, Nic Stone Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593461600
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Kokila - January 31st, 2023

Symbiosis (Shuri: A Black Panther Novel #3) By Nic Stone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338766530
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Scholastic Inc. - January 4th, 2022

Jackpot By Nic Stone Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781984829658
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Ember - September 29th, 2020