Gary Phillips with Scott Phillips - One-Shot Harry

Tuesday, April 12, 7pm CT
Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page or YouTube Page

Rectangular image with headshot of author Gary Phillips on the left half, a picture of the cover of "One Shot Harry" on the top right, and a headshot of Scott Phillips on the bottom right.Left Bank Books welcomes Master storyteller and crime fiction legend
Gary Phillips,
who will discuss one of CrimeReads Most Anticipated Books of 2022,
One-Shot Harry,
on our Facebook Live Page at 7pm CT on April 12th.
Phillips will be in conversation with St. Louis' noir master
Scott Phillips.
Join us on our YouTube & Facebook Live Page and order a copy of
from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores!
 

 

About our Speakers

Gary Phillips has published novels, comics, novellas, short stories and edited or co-edited several anthologies, including the Anthony-winning The Obama Inheritance: Fifteen Stories of Conspiracy Noir. Almost 30 years after its publication, his debut, Violent Spring, was named one of the essential crime novels of Los Angeles. He also was a story editor on Snowfall, an FX show about crack and the CIA in 1980s South Central, where he grew up.

Scott Phillips is a screenwriter, photographer and the author of eight novels and a short story collection. His bestselling debut novel, The Ice Harvest, was a New York Times Notable Book and was adapted as a major motion picture starring John Cusack and Billy Bob Thornton. He is the winner of the California Book Award, as well as being a finalist for the Edgar Award, the Hammett Prize and the CWA Gold Dagger Award. Scott was born and raised in Wichita, Kansas and lived for many years in France. He now lives with his wife and daughter in St. Louis, Missouri.

 

About One-Shot Harry

Race and civil rights in 1963 Los Angeles provide a powerful backdrop in Gary Phillips's riveting historical crime novel about an African American forensic photographer seeking justice for a friend--perfect for fans of Walter Mosley, James Ellroy, and George Pelecanos.

LOS ANGELES, 1963: African American Korean War veteran Harry Ingram earns a living as a news photographer and occasional process server: chasing police radio calls and dodging baseball bats. With racial tensions running high on the eve of Martin Luther King's Freedom Rally, Ingram risks becoming a victim at every crime scene he photographs.

When Ingram hears about a deadly automobile accident on his police scanner, he recognizes the vehicle described as belonging to his good friend and old army buddy, a white jazz trumpeter. The LAPD declares the car crash an accident, but when Ingram develops his photos, he sees signs of foul play. Ingram feels compelled to play detective, even if it means putting his own life on the line. Armed with his wits, his camera, and occasionally his Colt .45, "One-Shot" Harry plunges headfirst into the seamy underbelly of LA society, tangling with racists, leftists, gangsters, zealots, and lovers, all in the hope of finding something resembling justice for a friend.

Master storyteller and crime fiction legend Gary Phillips has filled the pages of One-Shot Harry with fascinating historical cameos, wise-cracks, tenderness, and an edge-of-your-seat thrill ride of a plot with consequences far beyond one dead body.

CrimeReads Most Anticipated Books of 2022
She Reads Most Anticipated Mystery Novels of 2022
Library Journal Editor's Pick for Spring 2022

"For thirty years Phillips has been a must-read writer, and One-Shot Harry is probably his best ever--tense and suspenseful, of course, but also deep, resonant and intelligent. It's a story that needed to be told, and therefore a book that needs to be read."--Lee Child

"Few books are able to capture the essence and vibe of classic hardboiled fiction and still manage to make the prose feel modern and of-the-moment. Gary Phillips does just that with One-Shot Harry and the memorable titular protagonist, Harry Ingram. This book is a swift uppercut of gritty storytelling that will keep you hungrily turning the pages, loaded with moments that will linger in your mind long after you've finished reading."--Alex Segura, author of Secret Identity, Blackout , and Miami Midnight

 

You can watch live on Left Bank's YouTube channel. To participate on Facebook, log in to your personal Facebook account, go to Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page, and wait for the livestream to begin on the page (you may need to refresh the page periodically until the stream begins). You can watch on either location without logging in, but in order to comment or interact with the program, you must be logged in.

Virtual Event
Books: 
One-Shot Harry Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781641292917
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Soho Crime - April 12th, 2022

Culprits: The Heist Was Just the Beginning Cover Image
By Richard Brewer (Editor), Gary Phillips (Editor), Brett Battles
$16.00
ISBN: 9781943818907
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Polis Books - February 27th, 2018

Los Angeles Noir (Akashic Noir) Cover Image
By Denise Hamilton (Editor), Michael Connelly (Contribution by), Robert Ferrigno (Contribution by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781933354224
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Akashic Books - May 1st, 2007

Matthew Henson and the Ice Temple of Harlem Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781947993860
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Agora Books - November 17th, 2020

The Obama Inheritance: Fifteen Stories of Conspiracy Noir Cover Image
By Gary Phillips (Editor), Walter Mosley (Contribution by), Christopher Chambers (Contribution by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781941110591
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Three Rooms Press - October 3rd, 2017

The Faking of the President: Nineteen Stories of White House Noir Cover Image
By Peter Carlaftes (Editor), Gary Phillips (Contribution by), Alison Gaylin (Contribution by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781941110898
Availability: Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Published: Three Rooms Press - April 21st, 2020

That Left Turn at Albuquerque Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781641292573
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Soho Crime - February 16th, 2021

The Walkaway Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781641291392
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Soho Crime - June 8th, 2021

St. Louis Noir (Akashic Noir) Cover Image
By Scott Phillips (Editor), Calvin Wilson (Contribution by), Lavelle Wilkins-Chinn (Contribution by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781617752988
Availability: On Our Shelves (Note - We update this inventory once per day.)
Published: Akashic Books - August 2nd, 2016