My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Pinterest logo

LBB Presents: Eliese Colette Goldbach - Rust: A Memoir of Steel and Grit

Thursday, March 5, 7pm
St. Louis Public Library - Schlafly Branch, 225 N Euclid

eliese goldbach, rustLeft Bank Books presents award winning author and midwest steelworker, Eliese Colette Goldbach, who will sign and discuss her debut memoir Rust: A Memoir of Steel and Grit.

Rust is an incredibly affecting memoir that chronicles Eliese's decision, after years of pursuing higher education and struggling to find stable employment, to apply for a union job at the Cleveland steel mill. At the mill, Eliese is a rare breed: a woman working in a physically demanding and male-dominated industry, and a liberal millennial laboring alongside conservative Baby Boomers and Gen-Xers. With tremendous grace and empathy, Eliese straddles many of the fraught lines that are currently dividing our country and offers an evocative, illuminating portrait of blue-collar America in all its nuance and humanity. Beyond taking readers into the belly of the furnace, Eliese also explores how the steel mill provides her with a sense of stability that allows her to finally confront a years-long struggle with bi-polar disorder and the lingering trauma of a college sexual assault. For these reasons and more, RUST is a truly unforgettable memoir that will appeal to readers of Hillbilly Elegy, Heartland, and Educated—and many more.

Eliese Colette Goldbach is a steelworker at the ArcelorMittal Cleveland Temper Mill. She received an MFA in nonfiction from the Northeast Ohio Master of Fine Arts Program. Her writing has appeared in Ploughshares, Western Humanities Review, Alaska Quarterly Review, McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, and Best American Essays 2017. She received the Ploughshares Emerging Writer’s Award and a Walter Rumsey Marvin Grant from the Ohioana Library Association, which is given to a young Ohio writer of promise.

This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of Rust from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line.

Thursday, March 5, 2020 - 7:00pm
St. Louis Public Library - Schlafly Branch
225 N Euclid Ave
Saint Louis, MO 63108
Rust: A Memoir of Steel and Grit Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250239402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - March 3rd, 2020