Ostrovsky: Plays Two (Kobo eBook)

Ostrovsky: Plays Two By Alexander Ostrovsky, Stephen Mulrine Cover Image
Available Now


Includes the plays The Forest, Artistes and Admirers, Wolves and Sheep and Sin and Sorrow

Four of Ostrovsky’s finest plays. The best known of these, The Forest (1871), has two young lovers in thrall to their tyrannical elders, who are prevented from marrying until a pair of strolling actors come to their rescue. In Artistes and Admirers (1881), a comedy of theatre life, a dedicated young actress renounces both love and fortune in order to pursue her sacred calling. In the comedy Wolves and Sheep (1875) Ostrovsky returns to a favourite theme, the double-dealing and hypocrisy of the Russian landowning classes, while the melodrama Sin and Sorrow (1863) explores the tragic consequences of a bored provincial wife’s brief affair.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781783192861
Publisher: Oberon Books
Publication Date: July 5th, 2016