Monstrous (Kobo eBook)

Monstrous By Sarah Myer Cover Image
$11.99
Available Now

Description


"A beautiful, courageous book.”
Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese

A Finalist for the 2024 L.A. Times Book Prize in Young Adult Literature

Monstrous is poignant young adult graphic memoir about a Korean-American girl who uses fandom and art-making to overcome racist bullying. Perfect for fans of Almost American Girl!

Sarah has always struggled to fit in. Born in South Korea and adopted at birth by a white couple, she grows up in a rural community with few Asian neighbors. People whisper in the supermarket. Classmates bully her. She has trouble containing her anger in these moments—but through it all, she has her art. She's always been a compulsive drawer, and when she discovers anime, her hobby becomes an obsession.

Though drawing and cosplay offer her an escape, she still struggles to connect with others. And in high school, the bullies are louder and meaner. Sarah's bubbling rage is threatening to burst.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781250337238
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: June 26th, 2023
Language: