Featured

Featured Events for front page

Friends of Left Bank Books 53rd Birthday Sale

Friends Sale: Friday, July 8 through Sunday, July 10
Left Bank Books and www.left-bank.com
Cake Party: Saturday, July 9, 1pm-2pm
Outside Left Bank Books on the McPherson side

Left Bank Books is turning 53!

One of the ways we like to say Thank You! to our Left Bank Books Friends members, for supporting Left Bank Books and our sister nonprofit Left Bank Books Foundation, is with a special Friends Sale on our birthday weekend! All Friends at the $100-level or above enjoy 20% off from Friday, July 8, through Sunday, July 10, both in the store and online. If you are not a Friend yet, you have time to join at or upgrade to the $100-level or higher before the sale!

During the past few COVID years, we have missed celebrating our birthday with you with birthday cake, so this year the cake returns!! EVERYONE--Friends and Not-yet-Friends--is invited to indulge in birthday cake with us on Sat, July 9, between 1pm and 2pm, outside the store on the McPherson side. Drop by, grab some cake, and celebrate another year of literacy & justice with Left Bank Books!

 

Friday, July 8, 2022 - 12:00am

Julius Hunter - Professor Julius K. Hunter’s “Stuff You Never Knew About St. Louis History”

Thursday, July 7, 6pm CT
In person at Left Bank Books
399 N. Euclid Ave
St. Louis, MO 63108
Please RSVP for the presentation here
Virtually at Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page or YouTube Page
 
Preorders are strongly encouraged for this event.
 
Left Bank Books welcomes award winning St Louis media icon,
Julius K. Hunter,
who will discuss his new book
Professor Julius K. Hunter's Stuff You Never Knew About St. Louis History
in our store on July 7th at 6pm!
Julius will sign copies of the book that are available for sale at Left Bank Books.
The book will be available on July 1st.
Preorders are strongly encouraged for this event.
Join us in person in the store or our YouTube & Facebook Live Page.
Order a copy of
from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores!
Hunter will personalize and sign copies for sale from Left Bank Books.
If you are unable to make it in person, leave a personalization note in your order.
 
 
In person attendance will be limited for the presentation but the signing line will be open to all who purchase a copy from Left Bank Books.
Please RSVP for the presentation here.
 

From the desk of longtime St. Louis news anchor (and occasional teacher) Julius Hunter, now you can learn all the funniest and most incredible bits of St. Louis history to fascinate your friends or just for your own enjoyment!

Featuring 309 juicy little "fun facts" about St. Louis history that somehow evaded our history classes, this light read-complete with clever and hilarious artwork by gifted St. Louis illustrator Todd Bauman-will keep the attention of anyone from little tykes to old codgers.

Can YOU answer a single one of these questions?
* What was the speed limit for the 600 automobiles on the city's streets in 1904?
* When did St. Louis' first drugstore open... and where was it located?
* Can you name the former enslaved St. Louis woman who eventually made fancy ball gowns for Mrs. Abe Lincoln AND Mrs. Jefferson Davis?
* How did the communities of Clayton, Kirkwood, and Alton, Illinois get their names?

 

The author's name, Julius Hunter, is a household word (actually TWO words) in every corner of the Greater St. Louis Metro Area. (On some corners more than others.) Since he was born - and not a day before his unceremonious birth - Hunter has held more jobs than you can shake a stick at. But in the interest of non-violence, let us not do any stick-shaking or saber-rattling. But a bit of jousting and even a bit of horse-play is in order. If we follow the bouncing ball of his colorful career, we can either sight a divinely guided meteoric rise to name recognition... or a personal contest for him to see how many jobs he could rack up in one lifetime. (Note: his maternal Grandma Hattie lived to be 102). So, without further ado before saying adieu... let us just list a sampler of the jobs he has held since he was a nine-year-old cleaning an elderly woman's house. Here goes: busboy; Sunday School teacher; organist; choirmaster; eighth grade teacher; educational radio station announcer/producer; ad agency copywriter; freshmen women's dorm housemaster; TV reporter/anchor; author; genealogist; banquet speaker; newspaper columnist; radio talk show host; philanthropist; cooking instructor; children's advocate; lecturer; adjunct communications instructor; university administrator; police commissioner; Missouri Historical Society, Campbell House Museum, and Backstoppers board member; St. Louis Symphony Orchestra narrator; and choral music composer. And through this variegated (rather than checkered) career, the author managed to collect the following 300+ fascinating facts about St. Louis history he bets you never learned in school.

 

You can watch live on Left Bank's YouTube channel. To participate on Facebook, log in to your personal Facebook account, go to Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page and wait for the livestream to begin on the page (you may need to refresh the page periodically until the stream begins). You can watch on either location without logging in, but in order to comment or interact with the program, you must be logged in.

Thursday, July 7, 2022 - 6:00pm

Damien Lewis - Agent Josephine: American Beauty, French Hero, British Spy

Tuesday, July 12, 6pm CT
Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page or YouTube Page

Left Bank Books welcomes debut award winning British author and reporter,
Damien Lewis,
who will discuss the "fascinating and riveting"
Agent Josephine: American Beauty, French Hero, British Spy,
on our Facebook Live Page at 6pm CT on July 12th.
Lewis will be in conversation with TBA.
Join us on our YouTube & Facebook Live Page and order a copy of
from Left Bank Books to support authors and independent bookstores!
 
 
 
 
 
Damien Lewis is an award-winning writer who spent twenty years reporting from war, disaster, and conflict zones for the BBC and other global news organizations. He is the bestselling author of more than twenty books, many of which are being adapted into films or television series, including military history, thrillers, and several acclaimed memoirs about military working dogs. Lewis lives in Dorchester, England.
 

Singer. Actress. Beauty. Spy. During WW2, Josephine Baker, the world's richest and most glamorous entertainer, was an Allied spy in Occupied France. This is the story of her heroic personal resistance to Nazi Germany.

Prior to World War II, Josephine Baker was a music hall diva renowned for her singing and dancing, her beauty and sexuality; she was the most highly-paid female performer in Europe. When the Nazis seized her adopted city, Paris, she was banned from the stage, along with all 'negroes and Jews'. Yet, instead of returning to America, she vowed to stay and to fight the Nazi evil. Overnight she went from performer to Resistance spy.

In Agent Josephine best-selling author Damien Lewis uncovers this little known history of the famous singer's life. During the years of the war, as a member of the French Nurse paratroopers--a cover for her spying work--she participated in numerous clandestine activities and emerged as formidable spy. In turn, she was a hero of the three countries in whose name she served: the US, the nation of her birth; France, the land that embraced her during her adult career; and Britain, the country from which she took her orders, as one of London's most closely-guarded special agents. Baker's secret war embodies a tale of unbounded courage, passion, devotion and sacrifice, and of deep and bitter tragedy, fueled by her own desire to combat the rise of Nazism, and to fight for all that is good and right in the world.

Drawing on a plethora of new historical material and rigorous research, including previously undisclosed letters and journals, Lewis upends the conventional story of Josephine Baker, revealing that her mark on history went far beyond the confines of the stage.

 

"Fascinating and riveting. What a story! It has never been told properly, if ever, before now. I know Josephine would be very proud of how she is portrayed."-- Jean-Pierre Reggiori, Josephine Baker's dance partner

"Damien Lewis's ten years of research into Josephine Baker's world as an operative for the allies during WWII takes her story to new heights. Escaping from the legend of a scantily clad singer/dancer who entertained the world, wartime Agent Josephine shines as bright as a beacon, shimmering with defiance, fierce in loyalty to her adopted France, and fully engaged in the collection and passage of intelligence. The love story that serves as a backdrop to her exploits resonates profoundly."-- Jonna Mendez, author of The Moscow Rules

"Astonishing. Exhilarating. Agent Josephine captures the indomitable spirit of Josephine Baker. Under the dark skies of WWII, Josephine stared down the German occupation of France to become a master spy, risking her life in service of the French Resistance and the British Secret Intelligence Services--all while expressing the depth and wholeness of her character as a loyal friend and captivating entertainer. Working beyond the limits of endurance, she inspired diplomats, statesmen, spies, Moroccan Berber chieftains and battalions of allied troops to fight the Nazis and their ideals. Josephine's odyssey calls to the resilience and creative tenacity that hides within all of us and bursts forth in the souls of a chosen few in extreme circumstances. Gripping as a thriller and superbly written. Everyone should read it."-- Scott Lenga, author of The Watchmakers

 

Publishers Weekly (05/02/2022):

After fleeing the poverty and racism of St. Louis, Mo., to seek fame and fortune in Europe, Josephine Baker (1906-1975) gave "the greatest performance of her life" as a WWII spy, according to this scintillating biography. Historian Lewis (Churchill's Band of Brothers) draws on newly discovered letters and diaries to paint a vivid portrait of Baker as "a chameleon, a rebel, a warrior, and a rule-breaker at heart." Recruited by French intelligence officials in 1939, Baker's first assignment was to befriend an attaché at the Italian embassy in Paris and find out if Mussolini planned to form an alliance with Hitler. She also helped determine Japan's wartime intentions, identified Abwehr agents in Paris, and ferried classified intelligence--written in invisible ink on musical scores--across enemy lines. In addition to her espionage work, Baker flew aid missions to refugees and entertained U.S. troops and dignitaries at the Liberty Club in Casablanca. Lewis stuffs the narrative with intriguing digressions about wartime intelligence activities, including a U.S. plan to help the Mafia smuggle cigarettes into Morocco in exchange for intelligence, and vividly evokes the "intense and tumultuous affair" between Baker and her chief handler, Jacques Abtey. The result is a thrilling espionage story perfect for fans of Lynne Olson's Madame Fourcade's Secret War(July)

Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly, LLC Used with permission.

 

You can watch live on Left Bank's YouTube channel. To participate on Facebook, log in to your personal Facebook account, go to Left Bank Books' Facebook Live Page, and wait for the livestream to begin on the page (you may need to refresh the page periodically until the stream begins). You can watch on either location without logging in, but in order to comment or interact with the program, you must be logged in.

 

Tuesday, July 12, 2022 - 6:00pm

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Featured