My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Pinterest logo

Featured

Featured Events for front page

Left Bank Kids Club: Ellen Potter - The Squatchicorns

Wednesday,  March 20, 3pm
Left Bank Books

Ellen Potter, The SquatchicornsLeft Bank Books presents the launch of its new after-school event series, Left Bank Kids Club, with award-winning children's author Ellen Potter, who will sign and read from the new book in her Big Foot and Little Foot series, The Squatchicorns!

When a tribe of Sasquatches flee from a mysterious curse, they take refuge in Hugo’s home, Widdershins Cavern. These new Sasquatches look a bit . . . odd. For example, they all have unicorn horns on their heads! Always open to meeting new creatures, Hugo befriends one of these strange squidges, Nobb. Nobb offers to escort Hugo though the North Woods so that Hugo can attend Boone’s birthday party. Having never been inside a Human house, Hugo finds the experience confusing and somewhat disastrous. Just when it looks like Hugo may have ruined Boone’s birthday, they set out on a mission to solve the troubling curse in Nobb’s cavern. 

Readers will get to make and wear Bigfoot Cardboard Feet and enjoy a Bigfoot Tracks Cake at the event!

Left Bank Kids Club is a new after-school event series for young and middle readers! Once a month, Left Bank Books will host special author events with themed activities and authorless parties to celebrate your favorite books. Kids of all ages are welcome!

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 - 3:00pm

Myisha Cherry - UnMuted

Thursday, March 21, 7pm
Left Bank Books

Myisha Cherry, UnMutedLeft Bank Books welcomes philosopher and UnMute Podcast host Myisha Cherry, who will sign and discuss her new book, UnMuted: Conversations on Prejudice, Oppression, and Social Justice, with St. Louis rapper and activist Tef Poe!

Why do people hate one another? Who gets to speak for whom? What does segregation look like today? Many of us ponder and discuss urgent questions such as these, but don't have access to the important new ways philosophers are thinking about these issues. Enter UnMute, the popular podcast hosted by Myisha Cherry, which hosts a diverse group of philosophers and explores their cutting-edge work through casual conversation. This book collects Cherry's lively and timely interviews, offering an accessible resource through which to encounter some of philosophy's most socially and politically engaged, public-facing work.

This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of UnMuted from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. 
Click here to pre-order your copy!

Tef PoeTef Poe is a rapper, musician, and activist from St. Louis, Missouri. He is a co-founder of Hands Up United in nearby Ferguson. As an activist, Poe has traveled to Geneva, Switzerland, testifying at the United Nations on behalf of the Ferguson protesters. In 2015, he traveled to Palestine as a member of the historic Dream Defenders delegation. He also was invited to the White House by President Barack Obama to discuss strategy regarding demilitarizing the police during the Ferguson unrest. In 2016–2017, Poe was a fellow at Harvard University via the Charles Warren Center for Studies in American History. As an artist, Poe has performed with Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Big K.R.I.T., Lupe Fiasco, and Dead Prez.

Parking: Lot one block north; street parking (meters free after 7pm). For directions and public transportation information, click here.

Thursday, March 21, 2019 - 7:00pm

Keith O'Brien - Fly Girls

Thursday, March 7, 6pm
Wings of Hope, 
18370 Wings of Hope Blvd.

Keith O'Brien, Fly GirlsJoin Wings of Hope as they kick off Soar into STEM, an exciting new regional initiative to ignite in local youth — especially girls and students of color — a passion for pursuing STEM and aviation careers.

Author Keith O'Brien joins us as keynote speaker to discuss the remarkable stories contained in his New York Times bestseller FLY GIRLS: How Five Daring Women Defied All Odds and Made Aviation History, with a book signing to follow.

"Mr. O'Brien, a former reporter for the Boston Globe working in the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, has recovered a fascinating chapter not just in feminism and aviation but in 20th-century American history." — The Wall Street Journal

EVENT DETAILS: Wings of Hope's Global Headquarters is located at Spirit of St. Louis Airport. Doors open at 6 p.m. Left Bank Books will offer books for sale at the event. Light refreshments provided. The event is free and open to the public, but advance registration is encouraged. Please register at eventbrite.comFor more information about the Soar into STEM program, visit www.wingsofhope.ngo/STEM.

Thursday, March 7, 2019 - 6:00pm

Lindenwood University Craft Talks: Kij Johnson

Thursday, March 28, 7pm
Lindenwood University, Harmon Hall, Room 136, 209 S. Kingshighway (St. Charles)

Kij Johnson, At the Mouth of the River of BeesKij Johnson has won three Nebulas, two World Fantasy Awards, and the Hugo, the Sturgeon, and various other awards.  Her most recent books are The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe; The River Bank, a sequel to Kenneth Grahame's The Wind in the Willows; and her first collection of short fiction, At the Mouth of the River of Bees. She received her MFA from North Carolina State University in 2012. In the past, she has worked in publishing, comics, trading card and roleplaying games, and tech, but currently, she is associate professor of creative writing at the University of Kansas, and the associate director for the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction.

This event is presented by Lindenwood University. For more information please visit lindenwood.edu.

Thursday, March 28, 2019 - 7:00pm

Brexit: A Guide for Confused Americans

Thursday, March 14, 7pm
Ethical Society of St. Louis, 9001 Clayton Rd.

Brexit: A Guide for Confused AmericansBrexit. For years that word has dominated international headlines as people throughout the world follow the seemingly endless saga of Britain’s quest to leave the European Union. But what is Brexit, exactly? Why did it happen, and what does it mean for the United Kingdom and for the world? How could Brexit affect the USA, and what similar political and cultural currents are flowing in this country?

Discover the answers to these questions and more as James Frey Croft, bona fide British person and long-time political activist, guides you on a funny and informative tour through the strange world of British politics. Afterward, you will be able to buy a selection of relevant titles curated by Left Bank Books.

This event is presented by the Ethical Society of St. Louis. For more information, please call 314-991-0955.

Thursday, March 14, 2019 - 7:00pm

Evan Thomas - First: Sandra Day O'Connor

Monday, March 25, 7pm
St. Louis County Library HQ, 1640 S. Lindbergh

Evan Thomas, FirstAcclaimed historian Evan Thomas presents the intimate, inspiring, and authoritative biography of Sandra Day O’Connor, America’s first female Supreme Court justice, drawing on exclusive interviews and first-time access to Justice O’Connor’s archives. Sandra Day O’Connor’s story is that of a woman who repeatedly shattered glass ceilings—doing so with a blend of grace, wisdom and humor. This is a remarkably vivid and personal portrait of a woman who built a bridge forward for all Americans.

This event is presented by the St. Louis County Library Westfall Favorite Author Series. For more information please call 314-994-3300.

Monday, March 25, 2019 - 7:00pm

Lynne Olson - Madame Fourcade's Secret War

Tuesday, March 12, 7pm
St. Louis County Library HQ, 1640 S. Lindbergh

Lynne OlsonIn 1941, Marie-Madeleine Fourcade, a young mother born to privilege and known for her beauty and glamour, became the leader of a vast French Resistance organization—the only woman to hold such a role. No other French spy network lasted as long or supplied as much crucial intelligence. As a result, the Gestapo pursued Fourcade’s group relentlessly, executing hundreds of its 3,000 agents. Now, in a dramatic account of the war that split France in two, bestselling historian Lynne Olson tells the fascinating story of a woman who stood up for her nation, her fellow citizens, and herself.

This event is presented by the St. Louis County Library Westfall Favorite Author Series. For more information, please call 314-994-3300.

Tuesday, March 12, 2019 - 7:00pm

Greg Iles - Cemetery Road

Saturday, March 9, 7pm
St. Louis County Library HQ, 1640 S. Lindbergh

Greg Iles, Cemetery RoadThe #1 bestselling author of the Natchez Burning trilogy returns with an electrifying tale of friendship, betrayal, and shattering secrets. When Marshall McEwan left his hometown of Bienville at age 18, he vowed never to return. The trauma that drove him away ultimately spurred him to become one of the most successful journalists in Washington D.C. But just as the political chaos in the nation’s capital lifts him to new heights, family illness forces Marshall to return home where he begins to suspect a shadowy group called the Poker Club is responsible for a string of violent deaths.

This event is presented by the St. Louis County Library. For more information, please call 314-994-3300.

 

Saturday, March 9, 2019 - 7:00pm

Steve Berry - The Malta Exchange

Monday, March 4, 7pm
St. Louis County Library HQ, 1640 S. Lindbergh

Steve Balta, The Malta ExchangeA deadly race for the Vatican’s oldest secret fuels bestselling political suspense author Steve Berry’s latest international Cotton Malone thriller. The pope is dead. A conclave to select his replacement is about to begin, but one Cardinal has fled Rome for Malta in search of a document that dates back to the 4th century and Constantine the Great. As former Justice Department operative Cotton Malone searches for the Cardinal, he draws the attention of the legendary Knights of Malta, the only warrior-monks to survive into modern times.

This event is presented by the St. Louis County Library. For more information, please call 314-994-3300.

 

Monday, March 4, 2019 - 7:00pm

Eliot Sappingfield - The Unspeakable Unknown

Monday, February 25, 4pm
Left Bank Books

Eliot Sappingfield, The Unspeakable UnknownLeft Bank Books welcomes Missouri author Eliot Sappingfield for an after-school signing and discussion of his new middle grade novel, The Unspeakable Unknown!

Guardians of the Galaxy meets The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy in this wild, warm-hearted, and hilarious sci-fi companion to A Problematic Paradox. Nikola Kross has battled aliens and won. But her father, who was kidnapped by evil extraterrestrials, is still missing, and now it’s up to Nikola and her friends to find and rescue him before it’s too late. He could be anywhere in the known universe, and they have little to go on except a desperate secret communication and an unhelpful clue that he’s in a secure facility somewhere deep underground. But the extraterrestrials are still determined to capture Nikola. And if she gets abducted, she won’t have to wonder where her father is…because she’ll already be there.

“It’s like Harry Potter, but with science instead of magic. Nikola is exactly the smart female protagonist that the sci-fi genre needs.” --HelloGiggles

This event is free and open to the public, but proof of purchase of The Unspeakable Unknown or A Problematic Paradox from Left Bank Books will be required to enter the signing line. Click the titles to pre-order your copy!

Parking: Lot one block north; street parking (meters free after 7pm). For directions and public transportation information, click here.

Monday, February 25, 2019 - 4:00pm

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Featured