Author Events

JA Jance: Moving Target

JA Jance

St. Louis County Library - Headquarters

Lance Tucker, an incarcerated juvenile offender, is set on fire and severely burned one night while hanging Christmas decorations. The police say that he did it to himself, but B. Simpson, Ali Reynolds's fiance and the man who helped put Lance in jail, feels obligated to get to the bottom of what really happened. Meanwhile, Ali investigates the decades-old murder of Leland Brooks's father. With Ali otherwise occupied, B. turns to Sister Anselm--a Taser-carrying nun--for help protecting Lance.

Thursday, March 13, 2014 - 7:00pm

McKenzie Funk: Windfall: The Booming Business of Global Warming

McKenzie Funk

Left Bank Books - Central West End 

McKenzie Funk has spent the last six years reporting around the world on how we are preparing for a warmer planet. Funk shows us that the best way to understand the catastrophe of global warming is to see it through the eyes of those who see it as a market opportunity. By letting climate change continue unchecked, we are choosing to adapt to a warming world. Containing the resulting surge will be big business; some will benefit, but much of the planet will suffer. McKenzie Funk has investigated both sides, and what he has found will shock us all.

Listen to McKenzie Funk talk about Windfall on Fresh Air here!

Parking: Lots one block north and one block east; street parking (meters free after 7pm)

For directions and public transportation information, click here. 

Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 7:00pm

Cathy Marie Buchanan: Painted Girls

Cathy Buchanan

Left Bank Books - Central West End 

Following their father's death, the van Goethem sisters find their lives upended. With few options for work, Marie is dispatched to the Paris Opera. Her older sister finds work as an extra in a stage adaptation of Emile Zola's "L'Assommoir." Marie is soon modeling in the studio of Edgar Degas, where her image will forever be immortalized as "Little Dancer Aged Fourteen." Meanwhile Antoinette, derailed by her love for Emile Abadie, must choose between honest labor and more profitable avenues.

Listen to an interview with Cathy Marie Buchanan on NPR here

Parking: Lots one block north and one block east; street parking (meters free after 7pm)

For directions and public transportation information, click here.

Wednesday, February 12, 2014 - 7:00pm

Observable Readings: Hadara Bar-Nadav & Melody S. Gee

Observable Readings

Llywelyn's Pub - Central West End

The Observable Reading Series, brought to you by St. Louis Poetry Center, welcomes poets Hadara Bar-Nadav and Melody S. Gee. Hadara Bar-Nadav is the author of Lullaby (with Exit Sign), awarded the Saturnalia Books Poetry Prize; The Frame Called Ruin, runner-up for the Green Rose Prize; and A Glass of Milk to Kiss Goodnight, awarded the Margie Book Prize. Melody S. Gee is the author of Each Crumbing House, which won the Perugia Press Book Award. She is the recipient of the Robert Watson Literary Prize and a Kundiman Asian American Poetry Retreat Fellowship.

Monday, February 10, 2014 - 7:30pm

River Styx: Kerry James Evans & Gary Fincke

River Styx

Tavern of Fine Arts 

River Styx at the Tavern presents Kerry James Evans, author of Bangalore, who holds an MFA from Southern Illinois University Carbondale, and whose poems have appeared in Beloit Poetry Journal, Ploughshares, and Prairie Schooner; and Gary Fincke, winner of the 2003 Flannery O'Connor Prize for Short Fiction for his collection, Sorry I Worried You, and whose work has received a Pushcart Prize and has been cited in Best American Essays and Best American Short Stories. $5 at the door. For more information, visit riverstyx.org.

Monday, February 17, 2014 - 7:30pm

River Styx: Jazzy Danziger & Thomas Lux

River Styx

Tavern of Fine Arts 

River Styx at the Tavern presents Jazzy Danziger, author of Darkroom, winner of the 2012 Brittingham Prize in Poetry, and editor of the Best New Poets anthology, who studied at Washington University; and Thomas Lux, whose most recent books of poetry include God Particles: Poems, The Cradle Place, The Street of Clocks, and 1975-1995, which was a finalist for the 1998 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. $5 at the door. For more information, visit riverstyx.org.

Monday, March 17, 2014 - 7:30pm

River Styx: Debra Marquart, Joe Schuster, & Michael Mlekoday

River Styx

Tavern of Fine Arts 

River Styx at the Tavern presents Debra Marquart, the author of two poetry collections: Everything's A Verb and From Sweetness, and winner of the Minnesota Voices Award, The Pearl Poetry Award, and a Pushcart Prize; Joe Schuster, author of The Might Have Been, whose short fiction has been cited among the "distinguished stories" in Best American Short Stories and has appeared in The Iowa Review and The Missouri Review; and Michael Mlekoday, author of the forthcoming poetry collection, The Dead Eat Everything, winner of the 2012 Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize. $5 at the door. For more information, visit riverstyx.org.

Monday, January 20, 2014 - 7:30pm

Jennifer Brown: Hate List

Jennifer Brown

St. Louis Public Library - Central Branch, Creative Experience Room 

After Valerie Leftman's boyfriend, Nick, opens fire on their school cafeteria, Val is shot trying to stop him, but is implicated in the shootings because of the list she helped create. Now, Val is forced to confront her guilt as she returns to school to complete her senior year. A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year, The Hate List is the St. Louis Public Library's Read It Forward pick.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014 - 7:00pm

Tony Abbott: The Copernicus Legacy: The Forbidden Stone

Tony Abbot

Left Bank Books - Downtown 

Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love bestselling author Tony Abbot's epic new middle-grade series, The Copernicus Legacy. In The Forbidden Stone, Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.

Watch Tony Abbott discuss The Copernicus Legacy here

Parking: Lot at 10th and Olive; garage at 10th between Locust and Washington; street parking (meters free after 7pm)

For directions and public transportation information, click here.

Sunday, February 9, 2014 - 2:00pm

Heather Brewer: Third Strike

Heather Brewer

St. Charles City-County Library - Spencer Road Branch 

Heather Brewer, brings the Slayer Chronicles series to a thrilling conclusion. All secrets will be revealed as Slayer Joss McMillan tracks a murderous vampire terrorizing his hometown of Santa Clara. During his investigation, Joss comes head to head with old enemies seeking revenge and faces the truth about his sister Cecile's murder. Joss must use all of his skill to protect his loved ones, even if it means paying the ultimate price.

Friday, February 21, 2014 - 7:00pm

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Events