My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Pinterest logo

Author Events

Circus Now! with Duncan Wall - The Ordinary Acrobat

Duncan Wall

Venue: Mad Art Gallery 

Enjoy performances and learn about contemporary circus in this Circus Now! event with Duncan Wall, author of The Ordinary Acrobat. The evening will include performances, audio and visual presentations, and a book signing. The Ordinary Acrobat is an utterly charming account of Duncan Walls's novice plunge into the strange and wonderful world of contemporary circus, and a nostalgic look back at circus history and inside the current Cirque du Soleil-fueled phenomenon. Tickets are $5 to attend, and if you are interested in a copy of The Ordinary Acrobat, we will apply that $5 toward the price of a book at the event. Tickets are available at circusnow.brownpapertickets.com.

Tuesday, March 19, 2013 - 7:00pm

Read St. Louis: Richard Ford - Canada

Richard Ford

Venue: St.Louis County Library 

The only writer ever to win both the Pulitzer Prize and the Pen/Faulkner Award for a single novel (Independence Day), Richard Ford follows the completion of his acclaimed Bascombe trilogy with Canada, a haunting and elemental novel about the cataclysm that undoes one teenage boy's family, and the stark and unforgiving landscape in which he attempts to find grace. Richard Ford will speak as part of Read St. Louis, a community-wide initiative develped by the St. Louis area library systems to encourage St. Louisans to read and discuss great books.

Friday, March 8, 2013 - 7:00pm

Gary Small - The Alzheimer's Prevention Program

Venue: St. Luke's Hospital, Emerson Auditorium Want to keep Alzheimer's at bay for years--ideally, forever? Prevention is the way, and this is the guide. Gary Small will discuss The Alzheimer's Prevention Program, essential for everyone with a family history of Alzheimer's and for the 80 million baby boomers who worry whenever they forget someone's name. It shows how to strengthen memory and avoid every day lapses. The event is free, but please RSVP to the Alzheimer's Association by calling 314.432.3422.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 - 6:30pm

Drinks Out with Jenny Lawson - "Let's Pretend This Never Happened"

Jenny Lawson

Update: Tickets are available for 9PM Booksigning ONLY 

Left Bank Books and Bridge Tap House & Wine Bar welcome Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, for a Drinks Out event in celebration of her #1 New York Times bestseller Let's Pretend This Never Happened. For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson's literary debut takes readers on a hilarious journey as she recalls her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. She shows us that the most mortifying events of our lives--the ones we'd like to pretend never happened--are, in fact, the ones that define us. Tickets are $28 and include admission for one person, a paperback copy of the book (which the author will sign), and two drinks from Bridge. More details and tickets are available at jennylawson.brownpapertickets.com.

Friday, March 8, 2013 - 7:00pm

Po Bronson & Ashley Merryman - Top Dog

Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman

Venue: Central Branch Library 

Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman expose the hidden factors behind every sort of win and loss--from bringing home a gold medal in Olympic swimming to bombing the SAT. Exploring the psychology of rankings, the neuroscience of mistakes, and the DNA of fearlessness, Top Dog is filled with cutting-edge science. By enabling you to identify your own competitive style, Top Dog will help you tip the odds of success in your favor.

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 - 7:00pm

Chavisa Woods - The Albino Album

Chavisa Woods

Venue: Left Bank Books - Central West End 

Chavisa Woods presents a technicolored vision of rural adolescence in The Albino Album, the story of a girl with an unpronouncable name--a fiery, unhinged, growling, big-hearted country girl in a dirty black tutu and combat boots who travels along all the bizarre yet familiar byways of human desire. Woods presents a new land of contemporary misfits, including fire-dancers, pseudo-Nazis who breed albino animals, horse thieves, and more.

Monday, March 18, 2013 - 7:00pm

Courtney Elizabeth Mauk - Spark

Courtney Elizabeth Mauk

Venue: Left Bank Books - Central West End 

Born in Missouri, Courtney Elizabeth Mauk returns with her debut novel, Spark, about the relationship between Andrea Simon and her older brother Delphie, a pyromaniac. Booklist called Spark "an absorbing and nuanced character study, and it was "highly recommended" by the Midwest Book Review. Mauk received an MFA in Fiction from Columbia University and teaches at Julliard and The Sackett Street Writers' Workshop.

Friday, March 15, 2013 - 7:00pm

Read It Forward: Kekla Magoon - The Rock and the River

Kekla Magoon

Venue: Central Branch Library 

The St. Louis Public Library's Read It Forward series presents Kekla Magoon, whose featured book is The Rock and the River. Set in 1968 Chicago, this powerful debut novel for teens follows thirteen-year-old Sam Childs, the son of a known civil rights activist who questions the possibility of change after the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Magoon is also the author of 37 Things I Love (in No Particular Order) and, most recently, Camo Girl.

Wednesday, March 13, 2013 - 6:00pm

William Gass - Middle C

William Gass

Venue: Left Bank Books - Central West End 

St. Louisan William Gass--essayist, novelist, literary critic, and National Book Critics Circle Award winner--discusses his long-awaited novel, Middle C. It begins in Austria in 1938, as Joseph Skizzen's father, pretending to be Jewish, takes his family to England, before he disappears under mysterious circumstances. Relocated to a small town in Ohio, Joseph grows up and creates a fantasy self with a fantasy goal: to establish the Inhumanity Museum.

Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 7:00pm

Ed Kovacs - Good Junk

Ed Kovacs

Venue: Left Bank Books - Central West End 

St. Louis native Ed Kovacs returns with his latest book, Good Junk, which received a starred review from Publishers Weekly. Ex-cop turned private investigator Cliff St. James has his hands full when he's called upon to assist with an investigation into the apparent suicide of a U.S. government "black projects" engineer in New Orleans. Ed Kovacs has worked for many years as a private security contractor deploying to challenging locations worldwide.

Monday, March 11, 2013 - 7:00pm

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Events