My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Pinterest logo

Author Events

Sheila Banks - Bittersweet

St. Louis Public Library - Schlafly Branch 

This debut novel is one of coming of age, race, womanhood, and the determination of a woman to succeed in early-20th-century America despite the country’s racial prescriptions and gender presumptions. Through it all, Ellie’s relationships with her loved ones force her to deal with the trauma of her childhood and the difficulties of letting go and to recognize the values of forgiveness, understanding, love, and healing.

Thursday, August 15, 2013 - 7:00pm

Peter Lerangis - Seven Wonders: Lost in Babylon

Peter Lerangis

Left Bank Books - Central West End

New York Times bestseller Peter Lerangis brings Seven Wonders: Lost in Babylon, the second book in a seven-book series. It chronicles the adventures of Jack McKinley and his race to find the Loculi that have been hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. In Lost in Babylon, Jack travels to the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, where he discovers a world out of time and is faced with a dilemma unlike any he'd ever imagined.

Parking: Lots one block north and one block east;street parking (meters free after 7pm)

For directions and public transportation information, click here.

 

Wednesday, November 20, 2013 - 7:00pm

Martin Cruz Smith - Tatiana

Martin Cruz Smith

St. Louis County Library 

The master of the international thriller creates the most compelling heroine of his career and the most realistic portrait of modern Russia in contemporary literature. Investigating the deaths of a fearless young journalist and a mob billionaire, Arkady Renko finds himself on the trail of a mystery as complex and dangerous as modern Russia herself.

Monday, November 18, 2013 - 7:00pm

Howard G. Buffett and Howard W. Buffett - 40 Chances: Finding Hope in a Hungry World

Howard Buffett

St. Louis County Library 

If you had the resources to accomplish something great in the world, what would you do? Legendary investor Warren Buffett posed this challenge to his son in 2006, when he announced he was leaving the bulk of his fortune to philanthropy. Howard G. Buffett set out to help the most vulnerable people on earth --nearly a billion individuals who lack basic food security. And Howard has given himself a deadline: 40 years to put more than $3 billion to work on this challenge. Co-written with his son, Howard W. Buffett, 40 Chances: Finding Hope in a Hungry World captures the inspiring journey.

Monday, November 11, 2013 - 7:00pm

Observable Readings: Dora Malech & Shane McCrae

Llywelyn's Pub

St. Louis Poetry Center present Dora Malech and Shane McCrae. Malech is the recipient of a Glenn Schaeffer Poetry Award, and a 2010 Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellowship. McCrae is the author of the poetry collections Blood and Mule, which was selected as a finalist for the Kate Tufts Discovery Award and a PEN Center USA Literary Award. For more information, visit stlouispoetrycenter.org/observable.

Monday, November 11, 2013 - 7:30pm

Kathryn Davis - Duplex

Kathryn Davis

Left Bank Books - Central West End 

St. Louisian and Washington University professor Kathryn Davis discusses her new novel, Duplex. In the tradition of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go and Heidi Julavits’s The Vanishers, Duplex seamlessly blends elements of fantasy, science fiction, horror, and fairy tale, to deliver a truly unforgettable novel. “Davis’s writing is so extraordinarily visual that she is practically a video artist: the reader closes the book as if waking from a dream.”—The New Yorker

Parking: Lots one block north and one block east; street parking (meters free after 7pm)

For directions and public transportation information, click here.

Wednesday, November 6, 2013 - 7:00pm

Lee Institute: Jeffrey Stout - Blessed are the Organized

Ladue Chapel Presbyterian Church 

In Blessed Are the Organized, Jeffrey Stout bears witness to the successes and failures of progressive grassroots organizing, and the daunting forces now arrayed against it. Working outside the notice of the national media, ordinary citizens across the nation are meeting in living rooms, church basements, synagogues, and schools to identify shared concerns, select and cultivate leaders, and take action. Their goal is to hold big government and big business accountable.

Monday, October 28, 2013 - 7:30pm

Ellen Stimson - Mud Season

Ellen Stimson

Left Bank Books - Central West End 

Former St. Louisian Ellen Stimson's hilarious memoir, Mud Season, tells the story of her family's move from St. Louis to the idyllic Vermont countryside, which turned out to be a little less idyllic than it seemed. It chronicles her full transition from city to small rural village living, where reshelving the bread in another part of the store is the stuff that local boycotts are made of. No, seriously. And it all comes unraveled from there.

Parking: Lots one block north and one block east; street parking (meters free after 7pm)

For directions and public transportation information, click here.

Monday, October 28, 2013 - 7:00pm

Michael Buckley and Shannon Messenger

Michael Buckley & Shannon Messenger

St. Louis Public Library - Central Branch

Join the St. Louis Public Library for this joint event with middle grade authors, Michael Buckley and Shannon Messenger! Michael Buckley will read from and sign his new book, NERDS: Attack of the Bullies. The grand finale to the New York Times bestselling series, Attack of the BULLIES stars Ruby Peet, aka Agent Pufferfish, the team captain with super nanobyte-enhanced allergies. Shannon Messenger will be speaking about Exile, the sequel to Keeper of the Lost Cities. It continues the story of Sophie, who is settling into her new life in the world of lost cities. But soon secrets buried deep in Sophie's memories resurface.

Tuesday, October 22, 2013 - 7:00pm

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Events