The Fire, the Water, and Maudie McGinn (MP3 CD)

The Fire, the Water, and Maudie McGinn By Sally J. Pla, Gail Shalan (Read by) Cover Image

The Fire, the Water, and Maudie McGinn (MP3 CD)

$41.99


Special Order
(This book cannot be returned.)

Neurodivergent Maudie is ready to spend an amazing summer with her dad, but will she find the courage to tell him a terrible secret about life with her mom and new stepdad? This contemporary novel by the award-winning author of The Someday Birds is a must-read for fans of Leslie Connor and Ali Standish.

Maudie always looks forward to the summers she spends in California with her dad. But this year, she must keep a troubling secret about her home life--one that her mom warned her never to tell. Maudie wants to confide in her dad about her stepdad's anger, but she's scared.

When a wildfire strikes, Maudie and her dad are forced to evacuate to the beach town where he grew up. It's another turbulent wave of change. But now, every morning, from their camper, Maudie can see surfers bobbing in the water. She desperately wants to learn, but could she ever be brave enough?

As Maudie navigates unfamiliar waters, she makes friends--and her autism no longer feels like the big deal her mom makes it out to be. But her secret is still threatening to sink her. Will Maudie find the strength to reveal the awful truth--and maybe even find some way to stay with Dad--before summer is over?

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.


Product Details ISBN: 9798212692496
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: July 11th, 2023
Language: English