The Devil’s Flute Murders (Detective Kindaichi Mysteries) (Paperback)

The Devil’s Flute Murders (Detective Kindaichi Mysteries) By Seishi Yokomizo, Jim Rion (Translated by) Cover Image

The Devil’s Flute Murders (Detective Kindaichi Mysteries) (Paperback)

By Seishi Yokomizo, Jim Rion (Translated by)
“Yokomizo at his absolute best... From the ominous opening through the brilliant final reveal, [he] ably blends suspense and fair-play detection... A classic of the genre.”  —Publishers Weekly, starred review

An ingenious classic locked-room murder mystery about the feuding family of a composer that’s perfect for fans of Lucy Foley, Ruth Ware, and Anthony Horowitz

This standalone novel features the scruffy sleuth Kosuke Kindaichi—the most famous Japanese detective—created by one of Japan's greatest crime writers: Seishi Yokomizo, the “Japanese Agatha Christie”


Locked room mysteries are hot again, and this classic from the golden age of crime presents a mind-bending Japanese mystery from the great Seishi Yokomizo, whose fictional detective Kosuke Kindaichi is a pop culture phenomenon akin to Sherlock Holmes.

This time the beloved scruffy sleuth Kosuke Kindaichi investigates a series of gruesome murders within the feuding family of a brooding, troubled composer, whose most famous work chills the blood of all who hear it.

Readers will be totally engrossed by one of Yokomizo’s most clever guessing games, in which everyone has something to hide…
Seishi Yokomizo (1902-81) was one of Japan's most famous and best-loved mystery writers. He was born in Kobe and spent his childhood reading detective stories, before beginning to write stories of his own, the first of which was published in 1921. He went on to become an extremely prolific and popular author, best known for his Kosuke Kindaichi series, which ran to 77 books, many of which were adapted for stage and television in Japan. The Honjin Murders, The Inugami Curse, The Village of Eight Graves and Death on Gokumon Island are also available from Pushkin Vertigo.
Product Details ISBN: 9781782278849
ISBN-10: 1782278842
Publisher: Pushkin Vertigo
Publication Date: July 4th, 2023
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: Detective Kindaichi Mysteries
“Yokomizo at his absolute best... From the ominous opening through the brilliant final reveal, [he] ably blends suspense and fair-play detection... A classic of the genre.”
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Another fiendishly complex mystery from the master of locked room murders... Atmospheric, chilling, and structurally complex.”
--CrimeReads