A Mansion for Murder: A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Paperback)

Old bones speak from the grave as a curse descends on Saltaire in acclaimed author Frances Brody’s thirteenth Kate Shackleton mystery, perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Jacqueline Winspear.

When Kate Shackleton disembarks at Saltaire station in the West Riding of Yorkshire, she has no idea what to expect. A stranger, Ronnie Creswell, has written to say that he has urgent information about the past that will interest her, and he persuades her to make the journey to Milner Field, the grand house that is said to be cursed. But moments after Kate arrives at the lodge, a messenger brings devastating news to Ronnie’s parents: he has been found drowned in the mill reservoir.

Ronnie’s father suspects that this was no accident, and the post-mortem proves him right. Ronnie was murdered. Terrified and distraught, Mrs. Creswell refuses to stay at the Lodge a moment longer. But events take an even more shocking turn when ten-year-old Nancy Creswell, eyes and ears for her blind Uncle Nick, goes missing. An account of the fateful Saturday of Ronnie’s death arouses Kate’s suspicions, and furhter investigations could prove her right. But truth is never so straightforward at Milner Field. Uncle Nick spins an old story that could hold the key to finding Nancy alive—though the fabled curse may not have claimed its last victim yet. And only a set of old bones buried on the grounds will finally reveal the horrifying truth.
Frances Brody lives in Leeds,  where she was born and grew up. After leaving school at 16, she worked and traveled, including a spell in New York. She then won a place at Ruskin College, Oxford, and afterwards studied at York University. Before creating the Kate Shackleton mysteries, Frances wrote historical sagas, winning the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin award for most regionally evocative debut saga of the millennium. When not writing or reading, Frances likes to test her less than brilliant map reading skills by walking in the Yorkshire Dales.

Product Details ISBN: 9781639109951
ISBN-10: 1639109951
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: May 21st, 2024
Language: English
Series: A Kate Shackleton Mystery
Praise for A Mansion for Murder:
“Longtime fans and new readers alike will find much to enjoy.”
Publishers Weekly

“Perfect for lovers of classic British mysteries.”
Kirkus Reviews

“An easy-to-like cast with a thoroughly entertaining, twist-filled plot.”
Booklist

“In the tradition of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple, Kate is an unflappable sleuth.”
—New York Journal of Books

“Immediately delightful.”
Portland Book Review, 5-star review

“All the entertainment value of an Agatha Christie novel.”
Midwest Book Review, audiobook review

“Another fun novel in the series . . . Fans of this series will be happy with this one.”
Red Carpet Crash

“A British treat for mystery buffs . . . [The] perfect fall/winter read.”
Wonder Women Sixty

Praise for Murder is in the Air:
“An engrossing look at women's place in society."
—Kirkus Reviews

“Smooth prose and nice local color.”
—Publishers Weekly

“A must-read...Charming, humorous, accurate, and engaging.”
Seattle Book Review

"[Murder is in the Air has] an atmospheric period backdrop [with] layered interactions [that] give flesh to characters"
—Historical Novel Society

Praise for The Body on the Train:
“This well-told tale is enriched with vignettes of daily life at a time in England...Readers must be on their toes to catch the subtle hints Brody skillfully drops.”
—Publishers Weekly

"The threads are all pulled neatly together by the end."
—Historical Novels Society
 
“Clever and realistic storytelling gives the reader a picturesque look into the dark underground of England in the 1920s.”
—Manhattan Book Review

Praise for A Snapshot of Murder:
“Absolutely captivating.”
—Hank Phillippi Ryan, national bestselling author of Trust Me

“A strong historical-mystery series; perfect for fans of post-WWI detectives, including Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford.”
—Booklist

“Well-crafted… Kate is someone readers will want to see a lot more of.”
—Publishers Weekly

“Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive.”
—Ann Cleeves, award-winning author of the Vera Stanhope mysteries

 “I lost a day's work because of this novel. I couldn't put it down. Kate Shackleton is a delightful heroine—smart, strong, and independent. Treat yourself to a trip back to 1920s Britain.”
—Elaine Viets, author of Ice Blonde