My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Pinterest logo

Under the Udala Trees (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Under the Udala Trees Cover Image
$34.95
Special Order

Staff Reviews


I fell in love with Okparanta's short stories a couple years ago and very much looked forward to her first novel.  This book has a stunning voice and a heartbreaking story.  Set in war-torn Nigeria, it explores Ijeoma's life and love.  It is a book examining a lesbian relationship in the most unforgiving of circumstances but speaks to so much more.  For fans of Americanah and The Fishermen. -Shane's February Staff Pick, 2016

Description


Inspired by Nigeria's folktales and war, Under the Udala Trees is a deeply searching, powerful debut about the dangers of living and loving openly.Ijeoma comes of age as her nation does; born before independence, she is eleven when civil war breaks out in the young republic of Nigeria. Sent away to safety, she meets another displaced child, and the star-crossed pair fall in love. They are from different ethnic communities. They are also both girls.When their love is discovered, Ijeoma learns that she will have to hide this part of herself. But there is a cost to living inside a lie.As Edwidge Danticat has made personal the legacy of Haiti's political coming-of-age, Okparanta's Under the Udala Trees uses one woman's lifetime to examine the ways in which Nigerians continue to struggle toward selfhood. Even as their nation contends with and recovers from the effects of war and division, Nigerian lives are wrecked and lost from taboo and prejudice. But this story offers a glimmer of hope--a future where a woman might just be able to shape her life around truth and love.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781504666336
ISBN-10: 150466633X
Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
Publication Date: September 22nd, 2015
Language: English