The Changes Trilogy: The Devil's Children, Heartsease, and The Weathermonger (Paperback)

The Changes Trilogy: The Devil's Children, Heartsease, and The Weathermonger By Peter Dickinson Cover Image

The Changes Trilogy: The Devil's Children, Heartsease, and The Weathermonger (Paperback)


Ships quickly (1-7 days)
Three dystopian novels by an award-winning author that imagine a world where humankind has suddenly and violently rejected modern technology.

Something has gone very wrong in England. In a tunnel beneath Wales one man opens a crack in a mysterious stone wall, and all over the island of Britain people react with horror to perfectly normal machines. Abandoning their cars on the roads and destroying their own factories, many flee the cities for the countryside, where they return to farming and an old-fashioned life.
When families are split apart and grown-ups forget how they used to live, young people face unexpected challenges. Nicola Gore survives on her own for nineteen days before she’s taken in by a Sikh family that still remembers how to farm and forge steel by hand. Margaret and Jonathan brave the cold and risk terrible punishment in order to save a man’s life and lift the fog of fear and hate that’s smothering their village. And Geoffrey and his little sister, Sally, escape to France only to be sent back to England on a vital mission: to make their way north to Wales, alone, and find the thing under the stones that shattered civilization—the source of the Changes.

Prolific author Peter Dickinson was known for “keeping up a page-turning pace,” and these adventure-packed novels are some of his most important contributions to science fiction (The Guardian).  
Peter Dickinson was born in Africa but raised and educated in England. From 1952 to 1969 he was on the editorial staff of Punch, and since then has earned his living writing fiction of various kinds for children and adults. His books have been published in several languages throughout the world.

The recipient of many awards, Dickinson has been shortlisted nine times for the prestigious Carnegie Medal for children’s literature and was the first author to win it twice. The author of twenty-one crime and mystery novels for adults, Dickinson was also the first to win the Gold Dagger of the Crime Writers’ Association for two books running: The Glass-Sided Ants’ Nest (1968) and The Old English Peepshow (1969).

A collection of Dickinson’s poetry, The Weir, was published in 2007. His latest book, In the Palace of the Khans, was published in 2012 and was nominated for the Carnegie Medal.

Dickinson has served as chairman of the Society of Authors and is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. He was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in 2009 for services to literature.

Product Details ISBN: 9781504014762
ISBN-10: 1504014766
Publisher: Open Road Media Teen & Tween
Publication Date: May 26th, 2015
Pages: 434
Language: English