Heart of Iron (London Steampunk) (Mass Market)

Heart of Iron (London Steampunk) By Bec McMaster Cover Image

Heart of Iron (London Steampunk) (Mass Market)

$12.99


Lena Todd is pretty and vivacious, which makes her the perfect spy against the Echelon. But when she ventures too deep, she'll find herself at the mercy of Will Carver, the only man she can't wrap around her finger and whose kiss she can't forget. 

Lena Todd makes the perfect spy. Nobody suspects the flirtatious debutante could be a sympathizer for the humanist movement haunting London's vicious blue blood elite. Not even the ruthless Will Carver, the one man she can't twist around her little finger, and the one man whose kiss she can't forget…

Stricken with the loupe and considered little more than a slave-without-a-collar to the blue bloods, Will wants nothing to do with the Echelon or the dangerous beauty who drives him to the very edge of control. But when he finds a coded letter on Lena—a code that matches one he saw on a fire-bombing suspect—he realizes she's in trouble. To protect her, he must seduce the truth from her.

With London on the brink of revolution, Lena and Will must race against time—and an automaton army—to stop the humanist plot before it's too late. But as they fight to save a city, the greatest danger might just be to their hearts…

A fresh, suspensful paranormal romance, Bec McMaster's London Steampunk novels will appeal to fans of Gail Carriger, Kristen Callihan's Darkest London series, and the Blud series by Delilah Dawson.

London Steampunk Series:

Kiss of Steel (Book 1)

Heart of Iron (Book 2)

My Lady Quicksilver (Book 3)

Forged by Desire (Book 4)

Of Silk and Steam (Book 5)

What readers are saying about Heart of Iron:

"A clever and entertaining combination of historical romance, steampunk, paranormal and alternate history."

"a vastly unique and utterly vivid world that transports readers into another place."

"a perfect mix of action, romance and steampunk!"

"a little dark and a lot dangerous."

"Steampunk, romance, paranormal, suspense this book literally had it all."

What reviewers are saying about Heart of Iron:

"An engrossing, thrilling sequel." — Tynga's Reviews

"Intriguing... [readers will] love the sexy, action-packed narrative. " — Publishers Weekly

"McMaster's second London Steampunk Book dazzles and seduces... will leave readers breathless. 4 ½ Stars, Top Pick of the Month! " — RT Book Reviews

What everyone is saying about Bec McMaster:

"a must read for paranormal fans and steampunk fans alike. 5/5 Stars, Reviewer Top Pick" — Night Owl Reviews

"richly imagined, gritty and dark, and full of hot heroes and hot sex… utterly delicious. " —Smart Bitches, Trashy Books

"Action, adventure, steampunk, and blazing hot seduction...Bec McMaster offers it all."—Eve Silver, author of Sins of the Flesh

Bec lives in a small town in country Victoria and grew up with her nose in a book. A member of RWA, RWA (Australia) and RWNZ, she writes sexy, dark paranormals and steampunk romance. When not writing, reading, or poring over travel brochures, she loves spending time with her very own hero or daydreaming about new worlds.


Product Details ISBN: 9781402270307
ISBN-10: 1402270305
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: May 7th, 2013
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: London Steampunk
"Edgy, dark, and shot through with a grim, gritty intensity, McMaster’s latest title adds to her mesmerizing steampunk series with another gripping, inventive stunner. Starred Review" — Library Journal

"HEART OF IRON is so impressive, it deserves a seal of excellence! Like moths to a flame, readers will be drawn to the world and characters McMaster has created. Make room on your keeper shelves... " — Fresh Fiction

"McMaster delivers not only an amazing world but amazing characters with depth, passion, and loads of sex appeal." — Fresh Fiction

"This had a great plot, lots of action, explosions, and enough sexual chemistry to keep you turning the pages. " — RomFan Reviews

"McMaster built a world with a continuous, streamlined timeline, it's one of the best world building I've ever read thus far. " — Talk Supe

"Bec McMaster brilliantly weaves a world that engulfs your senses and takes you on a fantastical journey." — Tome Tender

"Heart of Iron is an exciting, intense and wonderfully romantic read which drags you through balls full of predators and deep underground full of dirty scavengers... till you can't decide which are more dangerous." — Nocturnal Book Reviews

"Intriguing... [readers will] love the sexy, action-packed narrative. " — Publishers Weekly

"A wonderfully multi-layered, complex, and colorful world..." — All Things Urban Fantasy

"The entire mix of intrigue created an exciting read... The story hit highs and lows, causing me to laugh, my heart to race, and I even shed some tears." — That’s What I’m Talking About

"The story is intricate and weaves the characters together skillfully as events unfold... Action, intrigue and danger." — Paranormal Kiss

"Frustrating, exciting, tear-jerking... The story is excellent all around." — Paranormal Haven

" Stellar steampunk novel with outstanding world building and perfectly balanced romance that lived up to my high expectations set in book one." — The Book Vixen

"I’m not sure how Bec McMaster did it, but she did. And hot damn am I jealous of her mad skills... If you enjoy steampunk/paranormal/historical romances, you should pick up this series. And if you don’t… well then you should still give it a try. This series might just change your mind." — Pure Textuality

"Phenomenal... There are elements of paranormal, historical and steampunk effortlessly combined for a completely unique series. " — Where the Night Kind Roam

"It is so easy to get caught up in the world that Bec McMaster has created and once I'm there I don't want to leave." — Feeling Fictional

"A fantastic book, with an awesome cover and I can’t wait to see what happens next..." — Under the Covers Book Blog

"Entertaining and well written." — Paranormal Kiss

"Heart of Iron is another delightful romp through steampunk London with political intrigue, humanist plots and skullduggery at every turn." — Book Chick City

"Recommended for fans of: steampunk, growling, jumping across rooftops, secret organizations, sexual tension, and sexy carriage rides." — Goldilocks and the Three Weres

"McMaster further expands upon her already colossal universe, transforms two beloved secondary characters into praiseworthy protagonists and weaves a deliciously entertaining tale that’ll keep you reading until there’s nothing left." — Rabid Reads

"[McMaster’s] characters are beautifully written and storylines merge together nicely. " — Once Upon a Romance

"Filled with excitement and complex world-building, HEART OF IRON is a must buy book. " — Book Lover and Procrastinator

"Fantastic... a terrific blend of romance, mystery and steam punkery. " — Star-Crossed Romance

"McMaster’s second London Steampunk Book dazzles and seduces... will leave readers breathless. 4 ½ Stars, Top Pick of the Month! " — RT Book Reviews

"Heart of Iron is another delightful romp through steampunk London with political intrigue, humanist plots and skullduggery at every turn. " — Book Chick City

"An engrossing, thrilling sequel." — Tynga’s Reviews

"Bec McMaster does an excellent job of continuing the world and story from Kiss of Steel. Will and Lena’s story was action packed, always interesting and a great love story" — Simply Sweet Books

"[McMaster’s] descriptive powers are flawless and her ability to draw the reader in is unparalleled." — Debbie’s Book Bag

"The dark aura that McMaster creates permeates this work from start to finish. It is a combination of exquisite descriptions and delicious suspense... " — Long and Short Reviews