Kiss of Steel (London Steampunk) (Mass Market)

Kiss of Steel (London Steampunk) By Bec McMaster Cover Image

Kiss of Steel (London Steampunk) (Mass Market)

$7.99


Backordered

"darkly atmospheric and delectably sexy."—Booklist, starred review

Honoria Todd has more secrets than most people and she's hiding them in Whitechapel. Blade is the master of the rookeries and agrees to protect her, but at what price?

Most people avoid the dreaded Whitechapel district. For Honoria Todd, it's the last safe haven as she hides from the Blue Blood aristocracy that rules London through power and fear.

Blade rules the rookeries—no one dares cross him. It's been said he faced down the Echelon's army single–handedly, that ever since being infected by the blood–craving he's been quicker, stronger, and almost immortal.

When Honoria shows up at his door, his tenuous control comes close to snapping. She's so...innocent. He doesn't see her backbone of steel—or that she could be the very salvation he's been seeking.

A unique, sexy paranormal romance, Bec McMaster's London Steampunk novels will appeal to fans of Gail Carriger, Kristen Callihan's Darkest London series, and the Blud series by Delilah Dawson.

What everyone is saying about Bec McMaster:

"a must read for paranormal fans and steampunk fans alike. 5/5 Stars, Reviewer Top Pick"—Night Owl Reviews

"richly imagined, gritty and dark, and full of hot heroes and hot sex… utterly delicious."—Smart Bitches, Trashy Books

"Action, adventure, steampunk, and blazing hot seduction...Bec McMaster offers it all."—Eve Silver, author of Sins of the Flesh

Bec lives in a small town in country Victoria and grew up with her nose in a book. A member of RWA, RWA (Australia) and RWNZ, she writes sexy, dark paranormals and steampunk romance. When not writing, reading, or poring over travel brochures, she loves spending time with her very own hero or daydreaming about new worlds.


Product Details ISBN: 9781402270277
ISBN-10: 1402270275
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: September 1st, 2012
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: London Steampunk
"McMaster’s London Steampunk series is everything I want a steampunk world–richly imagined, gritty and dark, and full of hot heroes and hot sex. Yes, the sex in this book is utterly delicious. " — Smart Bitches, Trashy Books

"Fantastic... an interesting and well-crafted world. " — Under the Covers Book Blog

"Kiss of Steel is the first historical steampunk since the start of the Iron Seas series that balances both in depth world building, romance conflict, and social conflicts. Lovers of that historical fantasy fiction would be remiss to not pick this book up." — Dear Author

"I was blown away with Bec McMaster’s writing, unique characters and vampire... mesmerizing and entertaining" — Bumbles and Fairy Tales

"Compulsively readable... The mythology surrounding the vampires and the not-quite-vampiric blue bloods felt fresh and original, and it really added a lot to the overall atmosphere of the book. " — Mindful Musings

"Spectacular... The world was gritty, dangerous, and dark, the characters were full of strength and passion and furious honor. " — One Good Book Deserves Another

"This is one of my favourite adult, Victorian era steampunk books I have read. I absolutely adored this book. " — Novels on the Run

"With excellent world-building, and intriguing setting, memorable characters, and (of course) romance, Kiss of Steel is altogether an excellent read." — Book Savvy Babe

"McMaster's world is grim and violent, but there is hope for the characters, and this reader couldn't help but be pulled into the characters' struggle." — Book Lover and Procrastinator

"Dark, intense, and sexy, this mesmerizing debut takes readers into a grim, depraved, clearly crafted Victorian steampunk world... A stunning new series with an intriguing twist on the vampire theme." — Library Journal

"McMaster creates a fantastic world... I was hooked from the first few pages and found it almost impossible to put down. " — Book Chick City

"Smart, sexy storytelling at its best." — Fresh Fiction

"I really enjoyed this story... I became invested in the characters... Looking forward to reading the second story. " — That’s What I’m Talking About

"Unique and beautifully written. " — Awesomesauce Book Club

"A well-blended mixture of genres rolled into a tantalizing read. It gives you Steampunk, romance, paranormal and mystery all in one intriguing setting." — Thoughts in Progress

"Fantastic characters, good action, and hotness hotness hotness! " — Goldilox and the Three Weres

"A really impressive debut novel. I really liked the alternate historical world that the author built, and her characters were complex and likable. " — In the Hammock Book Reviews

"Tickles the mind with fantastic pictures and exquisite characters. " — NetGalley Reader Review

"The complex storytelling, amazing world-building, and heartfelt characters make KISS OF STEEL a must read for romance fans, especially if they enjoy steampunk or want to break into the genre. " — The Romance Reviews

"Delectable and dangerous..." — Anna’s Book Blog

"McMaster does a grand job with world building a setting that is different and fascinating..." — Reviews by Martha’s Bookshelf

"A fun romance with interesting world building... " — All Things Urban Fantasy

"GET THIS BOOK. If you ever loved vampires, and/or have even a mild interest in steampunk (which she also handles beautifully), please, take a chance on this lovely author." — Lori Reads

"Unique, spellbinding, thrilling and complex ... a must read for paranormal fans and steampunk fans alike. 5/5 Stars, Reviewer Top Pick" — Night Owl Reviews

"Wildly different from anything I have ever read... What an imagination Bec McMaster has. " — BookLoons.com

"Fast-paced, readers will root for the brave intelligent heroine while unsure of the motives of the master of Whitechapel... " — Midwest Book Review

"An impressive debut. Highly recommended." — NetGalley Reader Review

"An exquisitely imagined, alternative late-nineteenth-century England, McMaster’s wildly inventive plot deftly blends elements of steampunk and vampire romance with brilliantly successful results. Darkly atmospheric and delectably sexy, Kiss of Steel is an extraordinary debut. STARRED Review" — Booklist

"The world building in this book was just plain amazing." — Books Like Breathing

"Great plot, great character development, intense steamy moments and a great ending. I can't fault a thing. I was captivated from start to finish." — Sinfully Delicious Book Reviews

"Action packed with love scenes that will rock your boat... " — Yankee Romance Reviewers

"A sizzling Steampunk debut." — The Demon Librarian

"Plenty of tension and suspense with several mysteries to solve..." — Sia McKye’s Thoughts Over Coffee

"Outstanding steampunk book with creative world-building, action packed plot and heartfelt characters." — The Book Vixen

"Creative... a fresh take on the vampire lore... " — Sia McKye’s Thoughts Over Coffee

"Stellar... an amazing world, complex characters and action-packed plot. Steampunk fans will gobble this book up" — The Romance Reviews

"Undeniable, crackling-with-tension chemistry... " — NetGalley Reader Reviews

"A gritty story about defeat, survival and love in the 1880s alternate world London that Bec McMaster excels in creating..." — Addicted 2 Heroines

"A fun, romantic read and I’m looking forward to reading more from this author. " — NetGalley Reader Review

"Mre than a romance, and more than a vampire tale... Riveting!" — Long and Short Reviews

"The gloriously dark world-building, the steampunk elements blended beautifully with the paranormal, the luscious romance and the incredible chemistry all added up to a must read for any fan of gothic romance with a steampunk twist." — The Romanceaholic

"Packed full of gristly, dark characters ready to bleed and defend their turf. Kiss of Steel is a perfect example of what Steampunk blended with Paranormal should be." — Reading Between the Wines Book Club

"McMaster creates a fantastic world... impossible to put down. " — Book Chick City

"An enthralling debut... A leading man as wicked as he is irresistible... Heart-wrenching, redemptive and stirringly passionate... A series opener to be read and savored. 4 1/2 Stars" — RT Book Reviews