The Light of Home: A story of family, creativity, and belonging (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Light of Home: A story of family, creativity, and belonging By Diana Farid, Hoda Hadadi (Illustrator) Cover Image

The Light of Home: A story of family, creativity, and belonging (Hardcover)

By Diana Farid, Hoda Hadadi (Illustrator)

$19.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
A universal story about displacement, migration, and the many ways we find home, from talented author-illustrator team Diana Farid and Hoda Hadadi.

Nur has always loved her home by the sea, where water glimmers along a straight horizon.

But when Nur and her family are forced to leave, they begin a long journey to an unfamiliar place. Here the horizon curves and twists, and the moonlight no longer glitters across the water. For Nur, nothing in this new place feels like home.

Then one day, Nur's mother brings her a new set of paintbrushes. Nur's brushstrokes help her connect the place she's lost to this new horizon, and she finds home again through her own creativity and heart.

The Light of Home will resonate with anyone who has ever had to leave a place they've loved.

From author, poet, and physician Diana Farid and artist Hoda Hadadi comes this introspective story about belonging and the power of creativity. For readers of Yuyi Morales' Dreamers and Yamile Saied Méndez and Jaime Kim's Where Are You From?

Hoda Hadadi is a children's books illustrator living and working in Tehran, Iran. She has illustrated more than forty books for children and has won numerous international prizes, including the New Horizons Bologna Ragazzi Award and the Grand Prix of Belgrade.
Diana Farid is an award-winning author and poet. Her picture book, When You Breathe, was a National Council of Teachers of English Notable poetry book. Her novel in verse, Wave, was the 2022 Cybils Award winner for poetry novel and a School Library Journal Best Middle Grade Book. She is also a physician and associate professor at Stanford University.
Product Details ISBN: 9781338890617
ISBN-10: 1338890611
Publisher: Orchard Books
Publication Date: September 17th, 2024
Pages: 40
Language: English