The Expectant Detectives: A Mystery (Expectant Detectives Mystery) (Hardcover)

The Expectant Detectives: A Mystery (Expectant Detectives Mystery) By Kat Ailes Cover Image

The Expectant Detectives: A Mystery (Expectant Detectives Mystery) (Hardcover)

$28.00


Ships quickly (1-7 days)

Fresh, funny and heartfelt, The Expectant Detectives is Kat Ailes's charming debut mystery about a group of soon-to-be moms-turned-detectives.

“A darkly witty debut. Archly funny and highly recommended!”—Deanna Raybourn

Can they solve the mother of all murders?

For Alice and her partner Joe, moving to the sleepy village of Penton is a chance to embrace country life and prepare for the birth of their first child. He can take up woodwork; maybe she’ll learn to make jam? But the rural idyll they’d hoped for doesn’t quite pan out when a dead body is discovered at their local prenatal class, and they find themselves suspects in a murder investigation.

With a cloud of suspicion hanging over the heads of the whole group, Alice and her new-found pregnant friends set out to solve the mystery and clear their names, with the help of her troublesome dog, Helen. However, there are more secrets and tensions in the heart of Penton than first meet the eye. Between the discovery of a shady commune up in the woods, the unearthing of a mysterious death years earlier, and the near-tragic poisoning of Helen, Alice is soon in way over her head.

KAT AILES works in publishing as an editor and freelanced for several years to allow her to take a couple of belated gap years, including hiking the Pacific Crest Trail from Mexico to Canada. She now lives in the Cotswolds with her husband, their young son and her beautiful but foolish dog. The Expectant Detectives was her debut novel, the first draft of which was written largely (and frantically) in three weeks after she submitted the first few chapters to the Comedy Women in Print Prize and was unexpectedly shortlisted.

Product Details ISBN: 9781250322708
ISBN-10: 1250322707
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: January 9th, 2024
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Expectant Detectives Mystery

Good Housekeeping’s January 2024 Book Club Pick!
An Amazon Editors’ Pick for Best Mystery, Thriller, & Suspense
One of Goodreads’ “New Debut Novels to Check Out This Season”

“[An] exuberant debut mystery . . . Ailes sets a cheerful tone but doesn’t shy away from emotional heft, especially when writing about the secrets testing Alice’s relationship.”—New York Times

"Full of charming characters, including Alice’s goofy dog, this fast-paced, original cozy is great fun. A sequel would be welcome."—Publishers Weekly

"Pointed banter between the heroine and pretty much everyone else keeps this debut sharp."—Kirkus Reviews

“Witty, bright, and with an unexpected twist ending, Ailes' debut mystery will appeal to fans of British comedies and cozy mysteries.”—Booklist

“A book title this precious comes with the unspoken promise that what you’re about to read is as cozy as an episode of Midsomer Murders and as charming as Call the Midwife. Ailes delivers on that promise with humor and the kind of mystery Miss Marple loved to solve . . . A fresh and fun take on the mystery genre perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Helen Fielding.”—Oprah Daily

“In her first novel, Ailes has created a delightful mystery that both amuses and enthralls.”—Washington Post

“[The Expectant Detectives] is uber-witty [and] energetic . . . Ailes's strong sense of humor drives this clever novel.”—Shelf Awareness

“A darkly witty debut. Archly funny and highly recommended!”—Deanna Raybourn, New York Times bestselling author of Killers of a Certain Age

The Expectant Detectives by Kat Ailes is a wildly impressive debut. Pacy, energetic and best of all hilariously funny—without detracting from the shadowy mystery and genuine humanity at its core. Its characters and twisty plot feel absolutely real—you’ll be on the edge of your seat, totally immersed in trying to work out who did it, but rest assured you’re never far from a smile. Cozy crime at its finest!”—Janice Hallett, international bestselling author of The Appeal

“A gloriously smart and witty telling of the darker side of prenatal groups—this is really funny with edge.”—Helen Lederer

“Murdering every mommy cliché with hilarity and heart, this book is a complete triumph. Perfectly plotted, brilliantly observed and just so much fun.”—Lauren Bravo, author of How To Break Up With Fast Fashion

“I LOVED this book! Alice is hilarious, the mystery is compelling and fun, and this group of about-to-be-moms deserves a sequel, and some cake, obvi! Kat Ailes has written a winner of a book and you’ll want to read it immediately!”—Catherine McKenzie, USA Today bestselling author of Have You Seen Her

The Expectant Detectives is wildly funny, clever, twisty, charming, and unexpectedly relatable. It is exactly the surprisingly heartwarming and uproariously hilarious mystery we all need in our lives. This book is one of a kind and I can’t wait for the next installment.”—Nora Murphy, author of The New Mother

“This fun romp offers hilarious moments while taking on some real-life issues: the fear involved in becoming a first-time parent and the shadows of one’s own upbringing that can darken parenthood, all while Alice and friends undertake the whodunit.”—First Clue