Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story (Paperback)

Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story By Sarah Myer Cover Image

Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story (Paperback)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Apr 18 11:15pm
(Teen Graphic Novels)

"A beautiful, courageous book.”
Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese

A Finalist for the 2024 L.A. Times Book Prize in Young Adult Literature

Monstrous is poignant young adult graphic memoir about a Korean-American girl who uses fandom and art-making to overcome racist bullying. Perfect for fans of Almost American Girl!

Sarah has always struggled to fit in. Born in South Korea and adopted at birth by a white couple, she grows up in a rural community with few Asian neighbors. People whisper in the supermarket. Classmates bully her. She has trouble containing her anger in these moments—but through it all, she has her art. She's always been a compulsive drawer, and when she discovers anime, her hobby becomes an obsession.

Though drawing and cosplay offer her an escape, she still struggles to connect with others. And in high school, the bullies are louder and meaner. Sarah's bubbling rage is threatening to burst.

Sarah Myer is a comic artist and illustrator hailing from a ten-acre farm in White Hall, Maryland. An old-school cosplayer and anime fan, Sarah has attended anime/comic conventions as a fan and artist alley participant since 1999 and has constructed and worn more than fifty costumes. When they aren’t drawing, writing, or cosplaying, Sarah enjoys cooking, weight training, and spending time with their mackerel tabby, Loki. Sarah graduated from Savannah College of Art and Design with BFA and MFA degrees in sequential art and taught foundation studies classes at the college for three years. In 2019, First Second published Maker Comics: Create a Costume!, Sarah’s first graphic novel. Their graphic memoir, Monstrous, debuts in 2023.

Product Details ISBN: 9781250268808
ISBN-10: 125026880X
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English

A Finalist for the 2024 L.A. Times Book Prize in Young Adult Literature

A YALSA 2024 Outstanding Books for the College Bound & Lifelong Learners Selection


Included in the 2023 best of the year lists from YALSA, Kirkus, School Library Journal, Booklist, the Boston Globe, the New York Public Library, the Beat, and more!


"Heartfelt... Misfit readers will take solace in this just as Myer took comfort from Sailor Moon." —Boston Globe

"For fans of Jarrett Krosoczka’s Hey, Kiddo and Robin Ha’s Almost American Girl, this coming-of-age memoir will appeal to youth who are struggling with their identity." —School Library Journal, starred review

"Immersive and engrossing: a beautifully depicted emotional journey." —Kirkus, starred review

"Her powerful memoir is an empathic gift, presented in full technicolor with never-static panels, showcasing raw energy." —Booklist, starred review

"This is a fierce graphic memoir with grit and honesty." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

"Those who stick with the unflinching depictions of the bullying Myer endured will be rewarded with an engaging—and ultimately hopeful—narrative of a young artist developing their own true identity." —Horn Book Magazine, starred review

"Those wrestling with feelings of disconnect from their communities will find validation in this confessional read." —Publishers Weekly

"
The author writes frankly and honestly about the overt racism they dealt with daily and their struggle with their non-binary identity... an alternate title for Monstrous could be Fandom Saved My Life." —the Beat

"
We all have a monster within us, but as Sarah shows us in their story, the best way to fight the monster is with love for each other, and most importantly, ourselves." —Good Comics for Kids