The Adventure Zone: Petals to the Metal (Paperback)

The Adventure Zone: Petals to the Metal By Clint McElroy, Carey Pietsch (Illustrator), Griffin McElroy, Travis McElroy, Justin McElroy, Carey Pietsch Cover Image

The Adventure Zone: Petals to the Metal (Paperback)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of May 19 1:55am
(GRAPHIC NOVELS)

Start your engines, friends, as we hit the road again with Taako, Magnus and Merle, the beloved agents of chaos from the #1 New York Times bestselling graphic novels. Fans of Critical Role and Dimension 20 will love this installment in The Adventure Zone saga, which adapts the trailblazing D&D podcast into a blockbuster series!

Our boys have gone full-time at the Bureau of Balance, and their next assignment is a real thorny one: apprehending The Raven, a master thief who’s tapped into the power of a Grand Relic to ransack the city of Goldcliff. Local life-saver Lieutenant Hurley pulls them out of the woods, only to throw them headlong into the world of battle wagon racing, Goldcliff’s favorite high-stakes low-legality sport and The Raven’s chosen battlefield. Will the boys and Hurley be able to reclaim the Relic and pull The Raven back from the brink, or will they get lost in the weeds?

The Adventure Zone: Petals to the Metal has it all: blossoming new friendships, pining for outlaw lovers, and a rollicking race you can root for!

Praise for The Adventure Zone series:

"Topping the New York Times bestseller list and building out its stories in fascinating new ways . . . it’s become a cultural phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

"Full of charm and snark and wit. Join the party!" —Felicia Day, author of Embrace Your Inner Weird

"The Adventure Zone is fun, hilarious, and also smart. Hey, guys, can I have a cameo next time?” —Adam Savage, MythBusters

“My excitement about this existing cannot be dwarfed by anything. You see what I did there.” —Jean Grae, hip-hop artist, actor, and comedian

“Gorgeous art—the characters come to life! I am so happy that this graphic novel is a thing that exists in the world.” —Hank Green, author of Crash Course and The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Books in The Adventure Zone series:

The Adventure Zone: Here There Be Gerblins (Book 1)
The Adventure Zone: Murder on the Rockport Limited (Book 2)
The Adventure Zone: Petals to the Metal (Book 3)
The Adventure Zone: The Crystal Kingdom (Book 4)
The Adventure Zone: The Eleventh Hour (Book 5)
The Adventure Zone: The Suffering Game (Book 6)

Clint McElroy is a 45-year veteran of broadcasting who now works on the popular podcast THE ADVENTURE ZONE, with his sons Justin, Travis and Griffin. He is one of the co-writers of THE ADVENTURE ZONE graphic novels, along with WAR OF THE REALMS: JOURNEY INTO MYSTERY, for Marvel Comics, and MARVEL TEAM-UP. He has three BEST DAD coffee mugs and six BEST GRANDPA...although the titles have been challenged.

Carey Pietsch is a cartoonist based out of Brooklyn, NY. Her work includes drawing two arcs of Lumberjanes and the artwork for the Mages of Mystralia webcomic. Carey also makes Keepsakes and other original comics about magic and empathy. Along with brightening her workdays, The Adventure Zone got her to join a D&D campaign, where she’s currently playing a dragonborn sorcerer who cares too much about romance novels.

Meet the McElroys! Clint was born first, which recent studies have shown is the best procedure for fathers and sons. Justin came along twenty-five years later, two weeks late, actually, which caused his mother, Leslie, some consternation and more than a little back pain. Three years to the day (yes, the very day) Travis came along, forever ruining Justin’s birthday, at least according to Justin. The decision was made to not have a third child born on November 8th, so Griffin arrived three-and-a-half years later on April 17th. There followed this decade and that, during which there was a lot of school, theater, broadcasting, video games, moving around the country and various and sundry monkeyshines. Then came a time for fewer monkeyshines, so a ton of marriages happened and people were added to the family branch. In the midst of all this begetting, podcasts began springing up in even greater abundance and their names were My Brother My Brother and Me (which spawned a popular tv show), Sawbones, Shmanners, Wonderful, and a farcical romp called The Adventure Zone.

Meet the McElroys! Clint was born first, which recent studies have shown is the best procedure for fathers and sons. Justin came along twenty-five years later, two weeks late, actually, which caused his mother, Leslie, some consternation and more than a little back pain. Three years to the day (yes, the very day) Travis came along, forever ruining Justin’s birthday, at least according to Justin. The decision was made to not have a third child born on November 8th, so Griffin arrived three-and-a-half years later on April 17th. There followed this decade and that, during which there was a lot of school, theater, broadcasting, video games, moving around the country and various and sundry monkeyshines. Then came a time for fewer monkeyshines, so a ton of marriages happened and people were added to the family branch. In the midst of all this begetting, podcasts began springing up in even greater abundance and their names were My Brother My Brother and Me (which spawned a popular tv show), Sawbones, Shmanners, Wonderful, and a farcical romp called The Adventure Zone.

Meet the McElroys! Clint was born first, which recent studies have shown is the best procedure for fathers and sons. Justin came along twenty-five years later, two weeks late, actually, which caused his mother, Leslie, some consternation and more than a little back pain. Three years to the day (yes, the very day) Travis came along, forever ruining Justin’s birthday, at least according to Justin. The decision was made to not have a third child born on November 8th, so Griffin arrived three-and-a-half years later on April 17th. There followed this decade and that, during which there was a lot of school, theater, broadcasting, video games, moving around the country and various and sundry monkeyshines. Then came a time for fewer monkeyshines, so a ton of marriages happened and people were added to the family branch. In the midst of all this begetting, podcasts began springing up in even greater abundance and their names were My Brother My Brother and Me (which spawned a popular tv show), Sawbones, Shmanners, Wonderful, and a farcical romp called The Adventure Zone.

Carey Pietsch is a cartoonist based out of Brooklyn, NY. Her work includes drawing two arcs of Lumberjanes and the artwork for the Mages of Mystralia webcomic. Carey also makes Keepsakes and other original comics about magic and empathy. Along with brightening her workdays, The Adventure Zone got her to join a D&D campaign, where she’s currently playing a dragonborn sorcerer who cares too much about romance novels.

Product Details ISBN: 9781250232632
ISBN-10: 1250232635
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: July 14th, 2020
Pages: 272
Language: English
Series: The Adventure Zone

"The third installment of The Adventure Zone series invites readers into a thrill-heavy, high-octane, Fast and Furious–inspired adventure. ...Overall, fans of the podcast will be extremely pleased with the progression of the story, and fans of the series alone will revel in the mystery to come."—Booklist, starred review

"...Topping the New York Times best-seller list and building out its stories in fascinating new ways...it’s become a cultural phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

"Full of charm and snark and wit. Join the party!" —Felicia Day, author of Embrace Your Inner Weird