Forget-Me-Not Blue (Hardcover)

Forget-Me-Not Blue By Sharelle Byars Moranville Cover Image

Forget-Me-Not Blue (Hardcover)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Mar 2 12:20am
(MIDDLE GRADE)
Perfect for fans of Encanto and Turning Red, this intimate and heartfelt middle grade novel follows two siblings fighting to stay together amidst the ripple effects of addiction and generational trauma.

Siblings Con and Sofie’s mom promised that nothing would ever come between them–but when she disappears without any warning, she becomes the one who’s tearing them apart.

With no one else to rely on, inseparable siblings Con and Sofie must decide who they can trust, and whether or not it’s safe to share their hearts with family members who have the power to hurt them. Sofie has always turned to Con–and to books–during times of upheaval in their unstable lives. But as their mother is arrested and their guardianship becomes uncertain, Sofie will have to find hope in the most important story of all: her own.

Moranville’s captivating and vulnerable prose explores the ways in which addiction’s ripple effects pass through generations and how familial bonds can remain unbreakable through the most difficult circumstances. Expertly grappling with difficult topics at an age-appropriate level, this novel is a sensitive, nuanced exploration of children’s enduring resilience and optimism.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
Sharelle Byars Moranville is the author of critically acclaimed middle grade novels Over the River and 27 Magic Words, which received starred reviews in School Library Journal and Kirkus Reviews and was a Notable Children's Book in the Language Arts. She lives in Southern Illinois.

Product Details ISBN: 9780823453597
ISBN-10: 0823453596
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication Date: August 8th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English
★ "An optimistic conclusion, ferried by an enduring heroine, rounds out this hopeful novel by Moranville (Surprise Lily)."—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

★ "A unique book with the message that the scars of generational trauma are deep and lasting, but the cycle can be broken with creative outlets, strong family ties, and determination."—School Library Journal, Starred Review

"Moranville writes with candor and respect for her audience as she delves into the very real issues of poverty, addiction, physical abuse, foster care, and having an incarcerated parent, as well as the host of emotions that accompany these situations. . . . Though difficult and traumatic circumstances fill the narrative, readers who share Sofie’s experiences will feel seen and ultimately reassured."—Booklist

"A poignant, pointed portrayal of the heavy burden parental instability places on a family."—Kirkus Reviews