The Redemption of Daya Keane (Hardcover)

The Redemption of Daya Keane By Gia Gordon Cover Image

The Redemption of Daya Keane (Hardcover)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 23 11:35pm
(YOUNG ADULT 12-UP)

“Emotional and empowering, The Redemption of Daya Keane is full of the kind of heart and truth that vibrates off the page.” —Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

We Are Okay meets The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School in this heartfelt, queer coming-of-age story set against the backdrop of a small town’s evangelical megachurch culture.

The end of Daya Keane’s junior year in Escondido, Arizona, is anything but expected.

And it starts when her longtime swoon-worthy crush, Beckett Wild, actually talks to her at a party neither of them should’ve been at.

But as Daya’s best friends, Stella and B’Rad, are quick to point out, smart, cute, artistic Beckett is also the poster girl for the wildly popular youth group at Grace Redeemer, the megachurch Daya’s mom prays at and pushes her daughter to attend.

Amid the concert-worthy light shows, high-energy live band, and pastor preaching to love thy neighbor so long as thy neighbor “gets right with God” first, Daya struggles to find her place in a house of worship that doesn’t seem to create space for someone like her. Then again, she never planned to fall this hard for a girl like Beckett Wild.

Now Daya has to decide how far she’s willing to surrender to Beckett’s world of Grace Redeemer, and who she’s willing to become to be with her.

A fearless and profound tale ideal for readers of Jeff Zentner and Jennifer Dugan, The Redemption of Daya Keane gives an intimate and unforgettable look into a world that demands to be seen. 

Gia Gordon is a Texas-based author, youth activist, and former educator. She’s cofounder of the nonprofit Never Counted Out, which provides books to classrooms and community programs. When she’s not writing, Gia can be found at home with her partner and two kitties, out thrifting, or turning no-longer-wanted household goods into beautifully painted designs at Salvage Art. The Redemption of Daya Keane is her debut novel, and you can find her at giagordonwrites.com. 


Product Details ISBN: 9780063318373
ISBN-10: 0063318377
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: May 28th, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English

“Emotional and empowering, The Redemption of Daya Keane is full of the kind of heart and truth that vibrates off the page. Gia Gordon captures the complexities of love, faith, and growing up queer in this pitch-perfect portrayal of a young woman learning to navigate the world on her own terms. You’ll be thinking about Daya and her unforgettable story long after you’ve finished!"
Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

"The Redemption of Daya Keane is a glowing affirmation of staying true to your heart. The road might not always be easy, but Gia Gordon shows with witty and observant prose that staying true to yourself will never steer you wrong." — Jason June, New York Times best-selling author

"The Redemption of Daya Keane is a heartfelt and beautiful queer coming of age story. I fell in love with it with my whole heart. Gia Gordon took me to a world I’ll never forget, where I just wanted to hang out with Daya and her dazzling friends, B’Rad and Stella. Read it. Now." — Bill Konigsberg, Award-Winning Author of Openly Straight and The Music of What Happens

"With vibes of The Half of It and The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School, Gia Gordon presents an emotional and deeply relevant coming-of-age story about the power—and the cost—of embracing your truth." — Jonny Garza Villa, Stonewall Honor Author of Ander & Santi Were Here

"The complexity and relatability of Daya’s character as she struggles to stay true to herself while pursuing Beckett is immense... it's that relatability, combined with clear prose and an enjoyable story, that allows space for nuance in topics that are typically presented as clearcut for queer youth." — Booklist