My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo Pinterest logo

The Other, Better Me (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Other, Better Me Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
20 on hand, as of Dec 15 4:15am
(MIDDLE GRADE)

Staff Reviews


Lola has a devoted mother, wonderful friends, neighbors who watch over her like family, and a big question mark where her dad should be. A journey of self-discovery with more than a couple unexpected turns, Lola grows and changes right in front of the reader, but remains a delightful companion throughout. Without getting preachy, this lovely book serves as a reminder of how to treat other people and what's really important

— From Sarah

Antony John knows how to pull at your heart strings! His books just keep getting better and better. Lola is given the assignment to imagine her life if one thing were different. For Lola though, she thinks that she can maybe make that one thing a reality. What does that mean to her family?

— From Shane

Description


From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been feeling incomplete, like there’s a part of herself that she can’t know until she knows her dad.

But what will happen—to Lola, to Momma, to their team of two—if she finds him?

About the Author


Antony John was born in England and raised on a balanced diet of fish and chips and bizarre British comedies. To annoy his parents, he studied classical music at university. Now he writes books instead of music so he can wear sweatpants all day. He lives in St. Louis with his family, who think he’s weird for not liking chocolate. They might be right. Visit him online at www.antonyjohn.net.

Praise For…


“The characters are well drawn and believable. Cheerful Lola’s refreshing.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Lola is a strong, grounded character who might be temporarily shaken by fears or unhappiness but finds her equilibrium with the help of her extended, intergenerational network of friends. Her involving first-person narrative reveals insecurities known to many young readers and offers insights into the meaning of family.”  
— ALA Booklist

“John brings the protagonist’s hometown to life with an array of well-developed secondary characters. Lola discovers the power of using her voice and, with the help of her community and friends, learns that family is the people who are there no matter what.”
— Publishers Weekly

“The book grapples sensitively with the concept of individual versus familial identity and presents it in a heartfelt manner. A winner for its genuine take on coming of age that will speak to readers wondering about an absent parent or just figuring out who they are.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Lola has strong, positive peer friendships that set a good example of inclusion. Readers will appreciate John’s willingness to tackle big topics and may relate to Lola’s frustrations with growing up."
— School Library Journal

PRAISE FOR Mascot: “The strength and beauty of this novel lie in the ways in which a community gathers around Noah. You’ll bawl at the ending, because it is so very real.”
— New York Times Book Review

“Wonderful. Poignant. Beautifully written. Perfect voice. Do not miss this book. Mascot is a masterpiece.”
— Roland Smith, New York Times bestselling author of Peak, Zach’s Lie, and Cryptid Hunters

Mascot is the kind of book that makes me want to dress up in a costume and loudly tell the world about it.”
— Obert Skye, bestselling author of the Leven Thumps series


“Noah’s dilemma is universal: the struggle to rebuild identity when what once defined us no longer exists. Highlights the challenges of adapting to puberty and sudden disability at the same time.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“This action-packed, humorous story contains well-developed, dynamic characters who are thoughtful and relatable.”
— School Library Journal

“It is heartening to see young characters who don’t hesitate at their differences or care what other people think. As Noah comes to terms with his life-changing accident in this refreshingly fastpaced novel, readers will have an easy time cheering him on as he moves toward recovery.”
— Booklist

“The comedy balances accessibly with Noah’s grief, and readers will appreciate his return to the field.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062835659
ISBN-10: 0062835653
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: October 1st, 2019
Pages: 272
Language: English