The Queen's Lover: A Novel (Paperback)

The Queen's Lover: A Novel By Vanora Bennett Cover Image

The Queen's Lover: A Novel (Paperback)

$15.99


Special Order

From Vanora Bennett, the acclaimed author of Portrait of an Unknown Woman and Figures in Silk comes The Queen’s Lover, a fictionalized account of the life and loves of Catherine de Valois, a woman of enormous courage who became a great queen of two countries. Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sarah Dunant, and Tracy Chevalier, and every reader who adores top-quality historical fiction will be swept away by this epic love story set against the rich backdrop of 15th-century England and France—and by this remarkable woman who triumphed magnificently by making her own rules.

Vanora Bennett is the author of two acclaimed novels, Portrait of an Unknown Woman and Figures in Silk, and an award-winning journalist. She has contributed to the Los Angeles Times, the Times Literary Supplement, The Times (London), and the BBC. She lives in North London with her husband and two children.

“Vanora Bennett knows what drives her characters, both fictional and historical, and they seem as real and easy to relate to as your next-door neighbor. Bennett’s medieval England comes alive in ways a reader can immediately relate to, even while being transported away from the modern world.” — Christian Science Monitor on Figures in Silk

“Readers of historical fiction will be pleased with Bennett’s sure-handed storytelling.” — Publishers Weekly, on Figures in Silk

“A substantial historical novel set in turbulent 15th century England. Ably explores themes of romance and politics.” — Kirkus Reviews, on Figures in Silk