Lord of Light (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Lord of Light By Roger Zelazny Cover Image

Lord of Light (Paperback)


Ships quickly (1-7 days)

Staff Reviews

"His followers called him Mahasamatman and said he was a god. He preferred to drop the Maha- and the -atman, however, and called himself Sam. He never claimed to be a god, but then he never claimed not to be a god."

So begins Roger Zelazny's masterpiece, Lord of Light. The novel won the Hugo Award in 1968 for best novel and was nominated for the Nebula. Zelazny, a master craftsman, produced a marvel---a science fiction novel that can be read as easily as a fantasy---about the descendants of a crashed starship on a world where in order to survive turned toward technologies that gave some of them both immortality and the power of gods. But the culture has stagnated and things need to be shaken up.  Sam plans to do just that.

— From Mark

“Funny, wise, and infused with a sense of wonder and knowledge….Nobody else made myths real and valuable in the way Roger Zelazny could.”
—Neil Gaiman


Lord of Light is a classic tale of the far future from the incomparable Roger Zelazny. Winner of the Hugo Award—one of six Zelazny received over the course of his legendary career, as well as three Nebula Awards and numerous other honors—Lord of Light stands with Joe Haldeman’s The Forever War and Frank Herbert’s Dune as one of the seminal novels that changed the way readers looked at science fiction. Experience it and you will understand why New York Times bestselling sf author Greg Bear says, “Reading Zelazny is like dropping into a Mozart string quartet as played by Thelonius Monk.”

Roger Zelazny burst onto the SF scene in the early 1960s with a series of dazzling and groundbreaking short stories. He is the winner of six Hugo Awards, including for the novels This Immortal and the classic Lord of Light; he is also the author of the enormously popular Amber series, starting with Nine Princes in Amber. In addition to his Hugos, he went on to win three Nebula Awards over the course of a long and distinguished career. He died on June 14, 1995.