Shane

I read mostly fiction and mystery from all around the world with a lot of non-fiction history and social issues thrown in. Anything that someone tells me is good. I am a sucker for peer book pressure.

 

 Read the rest of Shane's picks here.

 

Staff Pick Logo
Quicksand Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781590518571
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Other Press (NY) - March 7th, 2017

For everyone who wants more behind the scenes of a courtroom, this is the book. The narrator keeps you so involved in the story.  I could not put this book down. I had to find out the rest of the story. There were several points where I audibly gasped because I was so surprised. For fans of Law & Order: SVU and so much more.


Staff Pick Logo
The Lying Game Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781501156007
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - July 25th, 2017

Complete edge of your seat! Completely thrilling! 
I could not figure things out fast enough, so I was constantly surprised by what was happening. Four friends share a secret and share a bond that holds through time and distance.
I love all of Ruth Ware's books and would be hard pressed to find a favorite. She is the Agatha Christie of today.


Staff Pick Logo
Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062362599
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - June 13th, 2017

I chose not to put this book down. It changed me. It controlled me. It should be required reading. Roxane Gay has such a way of making you feel like you are involved in her writing. She is speaking to you. She wants you to change, to be a better person. This book is about how to protect yourself. How to live in a world that wants to eat you alive.


Staff Pick Logo
The Almost Sisters Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062105714
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - July 11th, 2017

Thoroughly Southern in every way. I wanted to run around drinking a mint julep and calling everyone darlin'. This book is a perfectly balanced with drama, humor, compassion, and depth. It is a family drama with so much drama that you have to laugh at points. And laugh you will!
Almost Sisters is an homage to the South that doesn't gloss over anything. Jackson makes you feel like you are an "almost sister" as well.


Staff Pick Logo
The Graybar Hotel: Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501162299
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner Book Company - July 4th, 2017

A view of the world from the inside of the bars. Graybar Hotel gives you such a sense of the mental anguish that a prisoner encounters every day. Each story will pull you in many directions. I read a few of the stories and listened to the rest on libro.fm (our new independent audiobook website). They both created a very unique experience.


Staff Pick Logo
The Child Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101990483
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley Books - June 27th, 2017

The characters of this story make it more than just a psychological mystery. I loved Fiona's first book (The Widow), and think that she has really captured the heart of the genre. In The Child, the skeleton of a child has been discovered in a construction site and the details of the circumstances are completely unknown. It is only through the super journalistic skills of Kate that the story gets more than just a small article in a paper. She flushed the story out and gives it the humanity that it deserves. 


Staff Pick Logo
Beartown Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781501160769
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - April 25th, 2017

By now, you probably recognize the name Fredrik Backman as one of the world's favorite emerging authors. This book holds up to his canon of fantastic works, but it is quite different from his others. It has the usual Backman qualities in that it will make you laugh and cry, but this one seems deeper and more complex. Beartown deals with the struggles of an entire town trying to become significant again. This is a book about hockey much like how Friday Night Lights is a series about football. It is there, but the human aspect of the story is much more important than the sport. Beartown will break your heart.


Staff Pick Logo
I'm Judging You: The Do-Better Manual Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781627796064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holt McDougal - September 13th, 2016

This book will get you out of any funk. It is hilarious and exactly what this world needs. I can't say much more other than I am sad that I will never read this book again for the first time. There will be a second time and possibly a third. She touches on so many topics that are so relevant and so important.


Staff Pick Logo
Everybody's Son Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062442246
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - June 6th, 2017

This book touches on a lot of very delicate subjects, and Thrity Umrigar handles them with care. A young, black boy is "rescued" from his drug addicted mother by an affluent white couple that sets into motion the events of Anton's future. I had so much optimism for the characters. I wanted everyone to succeed and lessons to be learned. You will have so much compassion for Anton and the situation that he has found himself in. 


Staff Pick Logo
The Leavers Cover Image
By Lisa Ko
$25.95
ISBN: 9781616206888
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - May 2nd, 2017

The Leavers has stayed with me in a wonderful way since I finished reading, as it speaks to the importance of understanding in today’s society. The characters all struggle with finding and coping with their place in the world, from a Chinese-immigrant mother who disappears from her son’s life, to the son’s life with his adopted parents, affluent white professors at a liberal arts college in upstate New York. 

This month’s book received so much attention ahead of publication that it almost seemed too good to be true: Lisa Ko’s The Leavers was the winner of the 2016 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, appeared on numerous Most Anticipated lists, and received raves from the likes of Barbara Kingsolver and Ann Patchett. You should believe the hype.


Staff Pick Logo
God Country Cover Image
By Donny Cates, Geoff Shaw (Artist)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534302341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - August 8th, 2017

Described as Southern Bastards meets American Gods, I was hooked. I think the story of an old man acquiring this weapon to help him and also endanger him tells a lot about the choices that one must make. The story is the driving force with plenty of action and plenty of mythology. I really enjoyed spending time with these characters.


Staff Pick Logo
Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI Cover Image
$23.16
ISBN: 9780385534246
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday Books - April 18th, 2017

Completely captivating and utterly horrifying. I could not put it down, and I was appalled by the information that I completely lacked. The Osage were the richest people in the world per capita during the oil boom. A string of unsolved murders and suspicious deaths prompted the government to respond with what would become the FBI. Grann does a fascinating job with narrative history. The story keeps growing and the ramifications of this history still live with us today.


Staff Pick Logo
Exit West Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735212176
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - March 7th, 2017

Mohsin Hamid is one of my favorite authors. His worldview is one of the most unique voices working in literary fiction. I was fascinated by the story and compelled by how timely an issue this is. If I had to guess, I would say that Mohsin Hamid has magical abilities himself. This book will transport you to places near and far.


Staff Pick Logo
The Day I Died Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062560292
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - April 11th, 2017

I have been a huge fan of Lori Rader-Day since her debut mystery, and I can honestly say that her books keep getting better. I was immediately drawn into The Day I Died with a stunning first chapter and the development of a murder and a missing child. Anna is a woman on the run. She is a handwriting expert (the details of this are fascinating), trying to adapt to a new place, and stuggling to raise a teenager. This story has so many layers that you will not be able to put it down. The pages seem to turn themselves. Also, Lori named a character after me, so now you really need to buy this book.


Staff Pick Logo
The Hate U Give Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062498533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - February 28th, 2017

If every single person would read this book, I would have so much more faith in humanity. Angie Thomas wrote this as a response to the Black Lives Matter movement. I could not imagine a more honest main character or story. Do not put this book down. Read it cover to cover as often as you can. Yes, more than once! Adults, teens, anyone with a heart, anyone with any sort of social consciousness.


Staff Pick Logo
The End of Eddy Cover Image
By Edouard Louis, Michael Lucey (Translator)
$23.00
ISBN: 9780374266653
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - May 2nd, 2017

Young Eddy is growing up gay in a small factory town in France. The novel focuses on the many experiences that Eddy has growing up and finding out that he is different from the other members of his family. This is going to be a classic gay novel that has already been translated into many languages and has gotten international attention.