Shane's Picks

Shane. Edited.   
$26.00
ISBN: 9780544003446
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - September 22nd, 2015

 
I fell in love with Okparanta's short stories a couple years ago and very much looked forward to her first novel.  This book has a stunning voice and a heartbreaking story.  Set in war-torn Nigeria, it explores Ijeoma's life and love.  It is a book examining a lesbian relationship in the most unforgiving of circumstances but speaks to so much more.  For fans of Americanah and The Fishermen. -Shane's February Staff Pick, 2016