My Account | My Wishlist | My Cart | Log In

Facebook logo Twitter logo Pinterest logo

Author Events

Michael MacCambridge - Lamar Hunt

Michael MacCambridge

Venue: St. Louis County Library 

Award-winning sports writer Michael MacCambridge presents the definitive biography of one of our most beloved sporting figures: Lamar Hunt, the soft-spoken owner of the Kansas City Chiefs whose audacious challenge to the NFL transformed the landscape of American sports. Drawing on Hunt's personal papers and more than 200 interviews, MacCambridge provides an intimate, original portrait of Lamar Hunt.

Thursday, April 4, 2013 - 7:00pm

Shakespeare's Birthday with Laura Bates - Shakespeare Saved My Life

Laura Bates

Venue: Left Bank Books - Central West End 

Join Shakespeare Festival Reads in celebrating the Bard's birthday as Laura Bates discusses and signs Shakespeare Saved My Life. Just as Larry Newton, one of the most notorious inmates at Indiana Federal Prison, was trying to break out of jail, Dr. Laura Bates was trying to break in. Now, a decade later, her Shakespeare in Shackles program has been lauded by academics and prison communities alike. In this profound illustration of the enduring lessons of Shakespeare through the ten-year relationship of Bates and Newton, an amazing testament to the power of literature emerges. Shakespeare Festival Reads is a public reading group hosted by Left Bank Books and Shakespeare Festival St. Louis, designed to read the works of William Shakespeare, fictional adaptations of his plays, and relevant non-fiction.

Friday, April 26, 2013 - 7:00pm

Leana Wen - When Doctors Don't Listen

Leana Wen

Venue: St. Louis Public Library - Schlafly Branch 

In this examination of the doctor-patient relationship, Drs. Wen and Kosowsky argue that diagnosis, once the cornerstone of medicine, is fast becoming a lost art, with grave consequences. Using real-life stories of cookbook-diagnoses-gone-bad, the doctors illustrate how active patient participation can prevent mistakes. In the pursuit for the best medical care available, readers can't afford to miss out on these inside tips and more.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013 - 7:00pm

Richard Southall - Haunted Route 66

Richard Southall

Venue: Left Bank Books - Central West End 

In Haunted Route 66: Ghosts of America's Legendary Highway, author Richard Southall brings you across the country to investigate over 100 ghostly hot spots filled with fascinating facts and lingering spirits. History's most well-known figures traveled along the route--Al Capone, John dillinger, Charlie Chaplin--and left many ghosts behind. Join us for a night of interesting pop-culture and spooky stories.

Tuesday, April 2, 2013 - 7:00pm

Sara Henry - A Cold and Lonely Place

Sara Henry

Venue: St. Louis County Library 

A Cold and Lonely Place, the sequel to Learning to Swim, by Sara Henry follows Troy Chance on a powerful emotional journey as she discovers the damage left by long-hidden secrets and catches a glimpse of what might have been. Troy is snapping photos of the Saranac Lake Winter Carnival ice palace when she finds the dead body of a man she knows. Ultimately, she must decide which secrets should be exposed and how far her own loyalty can reach.

Monday, March 25, 2013 - 7:00pm

Circus Now! with Duncan Wall - The Ordinary Acrobat

Duncan Wall

Venue: Mad Art Gallery 

Enjoy performances and learn about contemporary circus in this Circus Now! event with Duncan Wall, author of The Ordinary Acrobat. The evening will include performances, audio and visual presentations, and a book signing. The Ordinary Acrobat is an utterly charming account of Duncan Walls's novice plunge into the strange and wonderful world of contemporary circus, and a nostalgic look back at circus history and inside the current Cirque du Soleil-fueled phenomenon. Tickets are $5 to attend, and if you are interested in a copy of The Ordinary Acrobat, we will apply that $5 toward the price of a book at the event. Tickets are available at circusnow.brownpapertickets.com.

Tuesday, March 19, 2013 - 7:00pm

Read St. Louis: Richard Ford - Canada

Richard Ford

Venue: St.Louis County Library 

The only writer ever to win both the Pulitzer Prize and the Pen/Faulkner Award for a single novel (Independence Day), Richard Ford follows the completion of his acclaimed Bascombe trilogy with Canada, a haunting and elemental novel about the cataclysm that undoes one teenage boy's family, and the stark and unforgiving landscape in which he attempts to find grace. Richard Ford will speak as part of Read St. Louis, a community-wide initiative develped by the St. Louis area library systems to encourage St. Louisans to read and discuss great books.

Friday, March 8, 2013 - 7:00pm

Gary Small - The Alzheimer's Prevention Program

Venue: St. Luke's Hospital, Emerson Auditorium Want to keep Alzheimer's at bay for years--ideally, forever? Prevention is the way, and this is the guide. Gary Small will discuss The Alzheimer's Prevention Program, essential for everyone with a family history of Alzheimer's and for the 80 million baby boomers who worry whenever they forget someone's name. It shows how to strengthen memory and avoid every day lapses. The event is free, but please RSVP to the Alzheimer's Association by calling 314.432.3422.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 - 6:30pm

Drinks Out with Jenny Lawson - "Let's Pretend This Never Happened"

Jenny Lawson

Update: Tickets are available for 9PM Booksigning ONLY 

Left Bank Books and Bridge Tap House & Wine Bar welcome Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, for a Drinks Out event in celebration of her #1 New York Times bestseller Let's Pretend This Never Happened. For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson's literary debut takes readers on a hilarious journey as she recalls her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. She shows us that the most mortifying events of our lives--the ones we'd like to pretend never happened--are, in fact, the ones that define us. Tickets are $28 and include admission for one person, a paperback copy of the book (which the author will sign), and two drinks from Bridge. More details and tickets are available at jennylawson.brownpapertickets.com.

Friday, March 8, 2013 - 7:00pm

Po Bronson & Ashley Merryman - Top Dog

Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman

Venue: Central Branch Library 

Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman expose the hidden factors behind every sort of win and loss--from bringing home a gold medal in Olympic swimming to bombing the SAT. Exploring the psychology of rankings, the neuroscience of mistakes, and the DNA of fearlessness, Top Dog is filled with cutting-edge science. By enabling you to identify your own competitive style, Top Dog will help you tip the odds of success in your favor.

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 - 7:00pm

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Events