Vertigo (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Vertigo Cover Image
$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Fans of Clarice Lispector, Lydia Davis, and experimental fiction of all stripes, you need to check out Joanna Walsh. The stories in Vertigo are linked by speaker and can be read like a novel, but each stands alone as an example of just how many boundaries the short form can push in a few pages. Walsh handles the seismic events of life--a child in intensive care, a pregnancy morphing the body--with a sort of alien bluntness and mania for category that forces her language into bizarre, thrilling new shapes. A mind-blowing must-read. -Kea's October Staff Pick, 2015

Fans of Clarice Lispector, Lydia Davis, and experimental fiction of all stripes, you need to check out Joanna Walsh. The stories in Vertigo are linked by speaker and can be read like a novel, but each stands alone as an example of just how many boundaries the short form can push in a few pages. Walsh handles the seismic events of life--a child in intensive care, a pregnancy morphing the body--with a sort of alien bluntness and mania for category that forces her language into bizarre, thrilling new shapes. A mind-blowing must-read. -Kea's October Staff Pick, 2015

 
— From Kea's Reading List

Description


Fiction. Women's Studies. "Joanna Walsh's haunting and unforgettable stories enact a literal vertigo--the feeling that if I fall I will fall not toward the earth but into space--by probing the spaces between things. Waiting for news in a children's hospital, pondering her husband's multiple online flirtations or observing the tourists and locals at a third-world archeological site, her narrator approaches the suppressed state of panic coursing beneath things that are normally tamed by our blunted perceptions of ordinary life. VERTIGO is an original and breathtaking book."--Chris Kraus

"With wry humor and profound sensitivity, Walsh takes what is mundane and transforms it into something otherworldly with sentences that can make your heart stop. A feat of language."--Kirkus, starred review

"Walsh's penetrating short story collection evokes the titular feeling of dizziness... these stories offer a compelling pitch into the inner life."--Publishers Weekly

Praise For…


“With wry humor and profound sensitivity, Walsh takes what is mundane and transforms it into something otherworldly with sentences that can make your heart stop. A feat of language.” KIRKUS, starred review

“Joanna Walsh’s haunting and unforgettable stories enact a literal vertigo—the feeling that if I fall I will fall not toward the earth but into space—by probing the spaces between things. Waiting for news in a children’s hospital, pondering her husband’s multiple online flirtations or observing the tourists and locals at a third-world archeological site, her narrator approaches the suppressed state of panic coursing beneath things that are normally tamed by our blunted perceptions of ordinary life. Vertigo is an original and breathtaking book.” Chris Kraus

“Reading Vertigo has opened even wider my conceptions of what’s possible in fiction—how a book can be like a series of photographs, like cinema. These stories appear as much as they engage with narrative, saturated with a calm yet rich color. I’ve not read anything like it and feel it is quietly subverting the hell out of the form.” Amina Cain

“Stunning short, sharp shocks with insight that reminds me of the very personal work of Clarice Lispector. . . . Packs a wallop into a very small space.” Jeff VanderMeer

“Walsh’s penetrating short story collection evokes the titular feeling of dizziness. . . . these stories offer a compelling pitch into the inner life.” PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
Product Details
ISBN: 9780989760751
ISBN-10: 0989760758
Publisher: Dorothy a Publishing Project
Publication Date: October 2015
Pages: 120
Language: English