Thou Shalt Not Road Trip (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Thou Shalt Not Road Trip Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Nov 24 5:30am
(YOUNG ADULT 12-UP)

Staff Reviews


Thou Shalt Not Road Trip is the newest teen book from St. Louis-based author Antony John (The Five Flavors of Dumb was his previous book, and it was awesome). Sixteen-year-old Luke Dorsey suffers a crisis of faith and a crisis of friendship simultaneously… which unfortunately coincides with a road trip to promote his surprise bestseller, Hallelujah. Add one wayward brother trying to impress his girlfriend and her sister, who was also the girl of Luke’s dreams (until she dyed her hair purple and covered herself in tattoos and piercings), and the trip is sure to be a rough one. The book samples from Hallelujah are told in a humorous and parable-like style and are sprinkled throughout the book in deft ways, often mirroring Luke’s current situations. Watching this flawed teenage boy figure out how to be a better person while his fans think he’s perfect is a good spin on those teens who seem so good from afar but who have growing and learning to do just like the rest.

— Danielle

Description


From the award-winning author of "Five Flavors of Dumb" comes a novel featuring one crazy road trip full of rejection, redemption, and romance. Perfect for fans of John Green's "An Abundance of Katherines," or Sara Zarr's "Once Was Lost."
Sixteen-year-old Luke's self-help book "Hallelujah "has become a national bestseller and his publisher is sending him on a cross-country book tour along the historic Route 66. Unfortunately for Luke, his irresponsible older brother Matt is coming along as chauffeur. When Matt offers to drive Luke's ex-crush, Fran, across the country too, things really get crazy. In this journey of self-discovery, Luke has to loosen up and discover what it truly means to have faith to win the girl he loves.
"A highly readable balance of humor, heart, self-discovery, and shenanigans." "BCCB"
"Christian values are conveyed with humor, devoid of potentially preachy pitfalls." "School Library Journal"
"Features multifaceted teens whose faith is integrated with their thinking but doesn't define them completely . . . A]n upbeat read with a unique premise, great settings, and just a little more." "Booklist

About the Author


Antony John won the Schneider Family Book Award for his novel "Five Flavors of Dumb." As a choirboy in England, he got to hear a whole lot of confusing theological discussions. Throw in a spiritual connection with Route 66, and you get "Thou Shalt Not Road Trip." He lives with his family in St. Louis, Missouri.

Praise For…


"A highly readable balance of humor, heart, self-discovery, and shenanigans."
-The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Christian values are conveyed with humor, devoid of potentially preachy pitfalls."
-School Library Journal

"Features multifaceted teens whose faith is integrated with their thinking but doesn't define them completely . . . [A]n upbeat read with a unique premise, great settings, and just a little more."
-Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9780803734340
ISBN-10: 0803734344
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: April 12th, 2012
Pages: 329
Language: English